Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
A great potluck recipe - everyone loves them!!! Very VERY easy if you use one of the fudge boxed brownie mixes (yes, I know the recipe says to make them from scratch but I just didn't have that kind of time). And very impressive. I did swap out the creme de menthe liqueur for 1 teaspoon of mint extract and 2 Tablespoons of water as suggested by a reviewer. I can't imagine that would change the results. All in all, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Made this for my grandson's 13th birthday. He loves mint and chocolate. We all loved it! My daughter said that this will replace our favorite chocolate cake recipe. Make sure you double the frosting otherwise you will be sorry! Only make it when you are having company..otherwise it is too tempting to have around:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieBug621
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just the chocolate topping is hard. Instead i just put some chocolate syrup on top, turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBug621

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Sorry, these didn't make it for me. The brownie layer was not a brownie but a cake texture and it didn't have a rich, pronounced chocolate flavor at all. I didn't waste the rest of the ingredients. After baking and tasting the brownie layer it went into the garbage. I will try another chocolate mint brownie recipe. Zero stars :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These turned out great. My mint cream was a little thick so I added a touch more creme de menthe. Also, there are two types of creme de menthe - one is clear. I used this one so I also needed green food coloring to color my mint cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I didn't use syrup but melted some chocolate. It was a HUGE hit at work. And as a mint fanatic, I must say this is going straight in my top list of mint recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I cheated a bit. Used a box brownie mix, and 1 tsp peppermint extract and about 1 1/2 to 2 TBS milk in place of the creme de menthe. I let it set at room temp., then i microwaved a can of frosting for 25 seconds and poured it on and smoothed it out. Refrig for an hour and it cuts nicely. It's probably a 5 star recipe, but I gave it 4 just because I didn't follow it to the "T!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used a pre-made brownie mix for this. I just want to stress the importance of adding milk (or water) tot he confectioners sugar if you are substituting mint extract for the liqueur, i forgot this step and my mint layer was more of a crumbly struessal topping. It made the chocolate topping not settle properly. the brownies tasted great despite this fact. I used about half a teaspoon mint extract in the mint layer and instead of semisweet chips i used andes chocolate mints melted down for the top. It was a great balance of chocolate minty flavor. Tasted much like a girl scouts thin mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great brownies!! I followed the advice and made my own brownie (from a box) and then used the mint frosting and chocolate topping. They are so easy and amazing! I used 1 tsp. peppermint extract and my recipes was lost so I guessed for the chocolate topping and used 1 cup chocolate chips and 2 Tbsp. butter, still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I make a nearly identical version of this adding 1 tsp vanilla to the brownie mix, using the 16oz can of Hershey's syrup (not sure if this is 1.5 cups), adding green food coloring to the filling, and using 1 tsp of peppermint extract rather than creme de menthe. These are simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States