Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These turned out great. My mint cream was a little thick so I added a touch more creme de menthe. Also, there are two types of creme de menthe - one is clear. I used this one so I also needed green food coloring to color my mint cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I didn't use syrup but melted some chocolate. It was a HUGE hit at work. And as a mint fanatic, I must say this is going straight in my top list of mint recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I cheated a bit. Used a box brownie mix, and 1 tsp peppermint extract and about 1 1/2 to 2 TBS milk in place of the creme de menthe. I let it set at room temp., then i microwaved a can of frosting for 25 seconds and poured it on and smoothed it out. Refrig for an hour and it cuts nicely. It's probably a 5 star recipe, but I gave it 4 just because I didn't follow it to the "T!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used a pre-made brownie mix for this. I just want to stress the importance of adding milk (or water) tot he confectioners sugar if you are substituting mint extract for the liqueur, i forgot this step and my mint layer was more of a crumbly struessal topping. It made the chocolate topping not settle properly. the brownies tasted great despite this fact. I used about half a teaspoon mint extract in the mint layer and instead of semisweet chips i used andes chocolate mints melted down for the top. It was a great balance of chocolate minty flavor. Tasted much like a girl scouts thin mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great brownies!! I followed the advice and made my own brownie (from a box) and then used the mint frosting and chocolate topping. They are so easy and amazing! I used 1 tsp. peppermint extract and my recipes was lost so I guessed for the chocolate topping and used 1 cup chocolate chips and 2 Tbsp. butter, still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I make a nearly identical version of this adding 1 tsp vanilla to the brownie mix, using the 16oz can of Hershey's syrup (not sure if this is 1.5 cups), adding green food coloring to the filling, and using 1 tsp of peppermint extract rather than creme de menthe. These are simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These were devoured at my work very quickly! The brownie is fudgy, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabcatlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This dessert is super good AND super easy. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've made these a few times and everybody always loves them! After reading some other reviews I replaced the creme de menthe liqueur with a little peppermint exact, only 2 teaspoons because of how strong it is. One time when I was in a hurry I just used a box brownie mix and still followed the steps for the topping. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A friend of mine gave me a recipe very similar to this one and I couldn't find it. I found this one and just used a regular boxed brownie mix like my friend's recipe. I made these for work and everyone loved them and several asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States