Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Yummy but next time will try a different recipe for the brownie base. The use of creme de menthe was awesome. I upped that to 3 tbsp plus another tbsp in the top chocolate icing. Also added green food colouring to the butter layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
O M G this is a phenomenal dessert! i URGE you to not buy prepared frosting & adding mint extract... making the real deal is easy ( i mean,youre already knee deep in fresh dessert mode so why stop now?) & worth it.. tip: i used mint extract & heavy whipping cream instead of the milk trick when making the mint frosting. yes, this will take a day (you need to fridge the minted brownies so they'll semi -harden) i made this xmas eve day (amongst my other cooking-- yes im crazy!) for xmas day dinner & my family LOVED IT... i felt like super star chef! i will cherish this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used boxed brownies....It was pretty good just wish the mint portion was a different icing because powdered sugar is way to sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and they came out wonderful! I tried a recipe from a coworker some years ago, but the brownie part didn't come our right for me. I have never had luck with brownies. But this recipe came out nice and moist and oh the creme de menthe! Thanks for this recipe; finally a brownie that works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought the brownies had a strange spongy texture and a weak chocolate taste. They were much different than a traditional brownie recipe. I liked the mint chocolate topping. They tasted much better when they were refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!if you like peppermint patties you will love this. I used my fave boxed brownie mix and took other reviewers ideas to use mint extract instead of creme de menthe and a couple of drops of green food color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADSIMONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Great recipe, tastes more like a cake than a brownie though, I'd also add more creme de menthe to increase the mint flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I don't know if this is fair or not but I took away a star because of the difficulty I had finding "creme de menthe liqueur". It was even for St Patty's day and no store in my town carried it. I ended up using mint extract and the flavor just didn't do it for me. The idea is 5 starts but the hassle and end result warrant 3 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Mercy, these are incredible! I took others' advice and used a brownie mix (from Aldi's which is the best box mix I have ever tried) instead of going from scratch. I also went with 1 T peppermint extract and some green food coloring instead of the creme de menthe. Will try using 2 tsp. of extract the next time. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Disappointed, could hardly taste the mint & I added more creme de menthe even. I'll try again with even more & if no improvement I'll look for something else. This was easy & I gave to neighbors on both sides of us, but that was before I tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States