Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The good thing about these brownies are the look of them. The texture and taste of the brownies are blah. The frosting doesn't have the best of taste. The chocolate on top cracks when you cut into it so you have to be careful. I made these for a dinner. Thankfully I tried them before I took them. In the last hour before I had to leave, I quickly made up different brownies to take. If you want something similar to these brownies, I would recommend using the "Best Brownies" recipe and using the frosting recipe from it with a few Junior Mints in it to give it the minty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were very good but not excellent. I thought the brownie was okay but it needed a kick of flavor or something. I do like my brownies cakey so these were perfect as for that. The mint layer was good, I added 3T of creme de menthe and was still a bit disappointed that it was not mintier. The chocolate layer I used 3 flavors, semi, milk and dark, all equaling 1 cup. I also then added 1T peppermint schnapps to try an add more mint flavor. All in all, I will make these again and all my guests loved them. Oh, I did add green color to the sugar frosting for St Patricks Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was well recieved. However I did use the other recommendations from the reviews by using a different brownie base. I used a dark chocolate brownie that I knew was chewey and moist. They were a hit! Thank you for a new St. Patty's dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I did not make the brownie part, but the filling and chocolate topping were excellent! Since I used an 8x8 pan, I halved everything. I took the advice of another reviewer and froze each layer for 2 minutes before putting it in the refrigerator. Make sure the mint layer is very cold before spreading the chocolate on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Use a boxed browne mix for a simply devine dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I can only rate the toppings, as I used a box brownie mix like others suggested. The cooling steps could be tedious, but I had enough time, and cut the time a lot by using my chest freezer to cool each time. These were absolutely aMAZing. I used 1 teaspoon of peppermint extract (rather than mint liqueur), with 1 Tablespoon of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and a few drops of green food coloring. My roommates were so impressed by these brownies and I loved them too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yummy. My husband took these bars to work for a holiday potluck. I was asked for the recipe. That was easy! Just sent them the recipe from allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Dry, not sweet, nor chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I was disappointed with these somewhat. The brownie part was extremely easy. The downside was it tasted funny and had a strange texture. The mint part I followed the suggestion of another reviewer using mint extract and water. I thought it tasted good and was bot too minty. I think if the filling and topping were on a different, more fudge like brownie this would taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I really shouldn't review this at all bc I changed the recipe so much... I cheated by using a box mix. I wanted a thicker layer of mint, so I used 1 1/2 the amount called for originally. I also used mint extract instead of Creme de Menthe. I think I should have mixed my mint layer longer, it was sort of grainy to me. I sprinked Andes Peppermint Crunch baking pieces over the top of the frosting to make them look festive. They were cute, just not super sure I liked the taste. That being said, I would attempt them again bc they looked so cute on my cookie tray :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States