Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Disappointed, could hardly taste the mint & I added more creme de menthe even. I'll try again with even more & if no improvement I'll look for something else. This was easy & I gave to neighbors on both sides of us, but that was before I tasted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This recipe was deceptively easy and has a more elegant flavor than one would think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I've been making this exact recipe for years. My daughter has been requesting it every year for her birthday cake since she was about 7. She's 15 now and still loves it. I used to make it the quick and easy way substituting a boxed brownie mix. Not anymore! The chocolate cake part of this recipe is just too good (way better than box brownies) and the texture is unique. We like it with Hershey's Dark syrup even better. The mint layer is also better with the green creme de menthe liqueur than it is with mint extract. I only use the liqueur when I make it now. I only buy semisweet chips which makes this dessert taste soooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I also made this for those like chocolate and orange, by substituting triple sec for the creme de menthe, though you could also use creme de banana, kirsch, or kahlua, just to name a few options for altering the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
ADVICE FOR THE MINT LAYER--add 2-3 tsp of water to the mint layer frosting to help it smooth out. It will hydrate the powdered sugar and help it spread much better. Also, be sure to let each layer cool COMPLETELY before doing the next, otherwise you will have swirly frosting layers and the brownie will be mushy and crumbly. This is almost exactly like the recipe that I have grown up with in my mom's house. I always only make a half batch otherwise I will eat the entire thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The mint flavour is not strong enough and the whole square is way way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Awesome! I took the advice from others and used a box brownie mix, used 2 tsp of peppermint extract instead of creme de menthe and chilled about 30 minutes before spreading on the chocolate layer. Took them to a party and they were a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Spangdahlem, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very good mint mixture (tastes like peppermint patty filling!). I used box brownie mixture because I didn't feel like making homemade. I also used peppermint extract because I didn't have the creme de menthe. Use sparingly - you can always add more! I think I started with just under a T and that was plenty. To get the mixture to a good consistency, I just supplemented with a little water. My brownies only made an 8x8 - don't use all of your toppings if this is your case, otherwise it is too thick and too rich - I learned. I also think a cake-like brownie, as opposed to fudge-like, would have been better, because the topping is gooey enough. I will definitely make again! You can color the mixture red for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I'm a brownie fan. I made it with a boxed mix and added peppermint extract and green food coloring to the filling. (I think I put in to much peppermint). Next time I'm gonna use half the filling, and less peppermint...The only reason it didn't get a five was because it is very time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The good thing about these brownies are the look of them. The texture and taste of the brownies are blah. The frosting doesn't have the best of taste. The chocolate on top cracks when you cut into it so you have to be careful. I made these for a dinner. Thankfully I tried them before I took them. In the last hour before I had to leave, I quickly made up different brownies to take. If you want something similar to these brownies, I would recommend using the "Best Brownies" recipe and using the frosting recipe from it with a few Junior Mints in it to give it the minty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States