Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
They were ok. Brought them for a friend's bday at work and really wished I had made my own brownie base, but they got eaten and tasted pretty good. But I really recommend making your own base- 4 eggs? That just made it so chewy- not in a yummy gooey way- more like a kitchen sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I made this with a store bought brownie mix. I thought that made this a little to sweet. This brownie recipe makes a little less sweet brownie to off set the very sweet topping. I will use this recipe next time for the brownie. I will only rate the topping this time which was fantastic. I took to a church function and everyone loved them. I did use mint extract instead of the liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made these brownies for a bake sale at my sons school. They flew! They are a real crowd pleaser, only I used mmmmm better brownies recipe as the brownies base and added the icing sugar and chocolate glaze to it. It was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMammaChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Although not the thick chunky brownies I had expected, these brownies tasted great - the next day. Don't bother rating this recipe until day 2 because you'll wish you'd rated them higher! Because I am a huge fan of mint, I added a 1/2 tsp of mint extract to the batter as well, and lowered the sugar because of the high sugar-content of the syrup. Still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this using a boxed brownie mix, as was suggested by other reviewers. For the mint flavoring, I used a bit of mint extract instead of the liqueur. It came out great and was even better the day after. For the future, I'll remember to use green food coloring to get that minty look, if I use the extract again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIEBECK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My five star rating is only for the mint filling and chocolate topping because I used a box for the brownies. ~ I used an 8x8 pan so mine were thick and after making them a few times, decided for my small pan they are better when I cut the frosting in half! If you are substituting mint extract use very little; start with 1/4 tsp with 2 T of milk to make it cream together. Too much mint makes it taste like toothpaste! Green food coloring gives it a minty look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These are the best ever. When I'm in a real hurry and want something really over the top but don't have time, I whip up a box brownie mix and simply put the mint and chocolate layers on top. You can't miss with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
took these to work and my co workers raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very Rich, I didn't have Creme de Menthe so I used Kahluah which turned out pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Pretty good, a little goes a long way. Definately use your own brownie recipe. But the mint layer is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States