Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have a recipe from my mom that's exactly the same as this except that the mint filling uses 3/4 tsp mint extract and 1 tbs water instead of creme de menthe, since my family does not drink alcohol. These brownies are amazing and my coworkers insist that I bring them to every potluck! The brownie part is super moist and dense (much different than a box mix!) and the mint cream is very flavorful without being overpowering. Both the brownie part and the chocolate topping add a nice chocolate flavor without being too sweet (if you use semi-sweet chips in the chocolate topping) and are a perfect balance to the mint cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The five stars is for the topping and filling, I DID NOT make the brownie from this recipe. It could even had been a bit more mintier for my liking but I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very rich! But these were pretty good. I used peppermint extract. I like a lot of peppermint, so I put in a teaspoon, maybe a little more. I prefer them cold, so I put them in the fridge. Oh, and my hubby said the green filling would make a yummy center to an oreo cookie. I doubt I'd make these again, but it was good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Seriously SO good! I took the advice of other reviewers and used a boxed brownie mix, however I would reccomend using two boxes in a 9x13 sized pan, 1 box made the brownies a little thin with loads of mint. I used peppermint extract (1 tsp) instead of the creme de menthe liqueur. The chocolate topping was WAY too buttery (6 tablespoons was way too much 2 or 3 would have been perfect) so I added another cup of chocolate chips, which turned out perfect. I melted the butter and chocolate chips in the microwave in 30 second intervals, only took about 1 min. They were so yummy! Took them to a party and everyone asked for the recipe, it's so easy to make too. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe, I've been looking to spice up brownies for a while now and this was the first time I've tired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Easy to make. Tastes great with vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
these were amazing! everyone at the party i took them too LOVED them, i left out the green food coloring because i had none and it looked fine. I wonder if you could substitute cream cheese for the butter in the mint creme to cut down on the fat a bit?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I read the reviews and then made the recipe as presented. They were good, but I agree that the base wasn't just right. Next time I'll follow the recommendations and use a purchased brownie mix for the base. I took them to a potluck and they flew out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
excellent receipe I had a problem with spreading the mint topping after being chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe was really easy to make and it tasted great. I made only two changes to the recipe. First, I didn't have Creme de Menthe and couldn't find it on short notice, so I used 2 1/2 tsps of mint extract. I think it gave the brownies the perfect level of mintiness. everyone thought I had topped them with Andes Mints. Second, I did not use butter when melting the chocolate chips. The result of this is that the chocolate on top of the brownies was hard to cut, but they tasted great. In the future, I will definitely reduce the amount of butter and use some oil. I think the butter makes the recipe a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
They were ok. Brought them for a friend's bday at work and really wished I had made my own brownie base, but they got eaten and tasted pretty good. But I really recommend making your own base- 4 eggs? That just made it so chewy- not in a yummy gooey way- more like a kitchen sponge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States