Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My family and I LOVE this brownie. My mom has been making it for years, we call it the Creme de Menthe brownie. She also adds green food coloring to the mint filling, just to look festive. I just asked her last night if she was making them this year :) Also, these freeze great! We have freezed them for up to a year and they come out perfect and good. We usually can't wait until they are thawed before cutting into them. I have even traveled from MD to FL on plane with packages of these... you will love them, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Everyone loves this recipie but I think using a boxed brownie mix would make it better. The recipie produces a cake-like, mediocre brownie. The mint and toping make this brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I've made these before and I've always called them my chocolate mint bars. I think calling it a brownie is deceiving. I always get rave reviews for these bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great addition to a pot luck. Used store bought mix like other reviewers suggested and added the top. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
When making the frosting, make sure you use PEPPERMINT extract if you are substituting for creme de menthe. I made the mistake of using mint extract and the brownies had a spearmint taste and ruined the brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chelle
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was quite good! I took others suggestions and made a boxed brownie mix and I had to improvise on the mint middle, it was really dry and crumbly so I used milk to smooth it out and make it spreadable and it turned out excellent! and for the top I microwaved the chocolate chips and butter, stirring every 30 seconds. my husband is a chocolate mint fiend and loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I stuck with my own brownie recipe, but oh man, the mint cream and chocolate icing...soo good! I am very glad that I used creme de menthe as called for as opposed to straying and using mint extract, I also added one drop of green food coloring to give it a more minty look. I melted the choc chips and butter stove top, in a sauce pan over low heat, with no problems. Thanks Kim, this is a keeper! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I have not made this recipe, but I grew up eating these bars. I read some of the other reviews and I couldn't imagine making these using a brownie mix. My mother's recipe for the brownie portion is slightly different and I think it's delicious - she uses a stick of margarine (rather than butter), a whole 16 oz. bottle of Hershey's syrup and a 1/2t baking powder. I think that layer is delicious that way and is way better than a brownie layer would be. She also uses 1t peppermint extract for the mint flavoring. I love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I agree - you can use the topping on any brownie recipe. My son asked for this instead of cake on his birthday! My son made it once with creme de menthe, and he says he liked it better with mint flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
WARNING: this recipe is time-consuming (although very delicious!) i only gave it 4 stars because i took another reviewer's advice and used a different brownie recipe (Brooke's Bombshell Brownies). the mint and chocolate layers from this recipe gave the brownie that extra "fancy" look and kicked a plain ol' brownie up a notch. next time i would reduce the amount of butter used for the chocolate topping to only 2 or 3 tablespoons--6 seemed like a bit much. other than that, this recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States