Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The toppings were good, but the brownie itself was bland and not at all impressive. I'll use the topping again sometime, but with a fudge-type brownie. And for those of you who want to use mint extract instead of creme de menthe because you "don't drink alcohol"- be advised that mint extract is 89% alcohol. Creme de menthe is 15% alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and DELICIOUS! The best brownies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I've been making this exact recipe for years! It is very rich. We nicknamed them "Death by Chocolate" at our house. Sometimes instead of the creme de menthe I just use mint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I took the advice of everyone else and used boxes brownie mix. So this review is only for the mint and chocolate toppings. I used 2 to 3 tsp peppermint flavoring with just a bit a milk to help it get creamy. took a while for the mint to set up enough to spread on the chocolate, wish I would have prepared for that. the chocolate topping was also very good although I think the amount of butter could be cut down. 6 tbsp is a lot of butter for only 1 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written. The mint and chocolate topping for this were excellent! The brownie was a little bland. While I agree that a light cake like brownie would be best with this rich topping, I think this one may have been just a little too light in flavor for my taste. I think a typical fudge brownie box mix might be too rich. Next time I'll either try another homemade browie recipe made with cocoa or maybe a box mix following the 'cake like brownies' directions and then use this topping recipe. All in all still really good though! Oh and it was much better at room temperature when the toppings were soft and creamy rather than cold and stiff......Ive made this lots of times now and Ive changed to liking it better cold :) Still great! I just buy dark chocolate brownie mix and follow the cake like brownie directions (add an extra egg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Everybody keeps raving about the mint and chocolate toppings, which I agree is fantastic. But I also love the brownie part. Using the chocolate syrup makes for a very tasty moist brownie which I find so much better than a box mix. Its also extremely easy to make. You just mix everything together and pour it in the pan. My mom has been making this recipe for 20 years and it is my most favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Winters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I like the dense cake-like consistancy of the brownie. These are my favorte Christmastime treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
OMGosh! These are the best! I used my favorite box mix for the brownies and used peppermint extract instead of creme de menth. My kids now ask for pepermint brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used a boxed brownie mix in a 9x9, so I halved the ingredients for the creme de menthe layer and the chocolate topping. The creme de menthe layer turned out soupy and never set up (although my butter was closer to melted than softened), which made spreading the chocolate layer over top difficult. Then, the chocolate layer cracked when I went to cut the brownies after letting them chill in the fridge overnight, and the (still soupy) creme de menthe layer squished out all over. Taste was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Rating is for mint and chocolate topping layer only, used my favorite box mix for the brownie layer Made with peppermint extract and ohhh, these are good. A wonderful way to dress up a brownie. A little time heavy, with the waiting for the browinies to cool and then waiting for the mint layer to firm up in the fridge, but sooo worth planning ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States