Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
"Obscenely good," was how one guest rated this dessert. I used a chocolate chunk boxed brownie mix. A bit of milk really smoothed out the frosting. Tip: to spread the frosting more easily, keep your spoon or spatula wet to keep it from sticking so much. Topped with dark chocolate drizzles instead of a full layer [added a touch of parafin wax to the chocolate] and made some white chocolate leaves for garnish. Fabuloso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
These are excellent. I do use a different brownie recipe because I like my brownies denser and fudgier. That is just my preference and I would not hesitate to serve this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I also use a box cake mix. I get so many compliments on this recipe! One co worker asked me to make her a bowl just of the mint frosting. Definitely will keep making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have been making these for 30 years. They have always been a special occasion dessert and everyone loves them. At Christmas i decorate each brownie with a green wreath and red bow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I followed the recipeeaxact except for the creme de minthe. I used 1 tablespoon mint extract and 1 tablespoon water in lieu of the mint alcohol. And I used dark chocolate chips for topping rather than semi-sweet chips. Tastes like Fannie May mint meltaways!! So yummy!!!!! Brwonie recipe turned out well, too. I did not use a box mix as other reviewers have. Homemade all the way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I changed the recipe a little bit. But it was a perfect Christmas dessert! Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I didn't care for the brownie recipe. Other reviewers called the brownies dense and moist but mine were dry and cakey, so I don't know where the disconnect there is. I believe using 3 eggs instead of 4 might help with this. The mint frosting is quite stiff, and I had to spread it very carefully with my fingers so as not to tear the brownies. I found that two tbs of the mint liqueur was not enough mint flavor for me, so I added a third. For the mint frosting to be green, I needed green food coloring--my creme de menthe liqueur is clear. Adding butter to the chocolate for the top layer isn't necessary; if you want to cut out some of the fat you can just microwave your chocolate on half power in 30 second bursts, stirring after each burst, until it's melted enough to work with. Try to use a bowl that doesn't absorb much heat itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
used 1/2 tsp. Peppermint Extract instead of the creme de menthe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Yummy but next time will try a different recipe for the brownie base. The use of creme de menthe was awesome. I upped that to 3 tbsp plus another tbsp in the top chocolate icing. Also added green food colouring to the butter layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
O M G this is a phenomenal dessert! i URGE you to not buy prepared frosting & adding mint extract... making the real deal is easy ( i mean,youre already knee deep in fresh dessert mode so why stop now?) & worth it.. tip: i used mint extract & heavy whipping cream instead of the milk trick when making the mint frosting. yes, this will take a day (you need to fridge the minted brownies so they'll semi -harden) i made this xmas eve day (amongst my other cooking-- yes im crazy!) for xmas day dinner & my family LOVED IT... i felt like super star chef! i will cherish this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States