Chocolate Mint Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really like these. I am a beginner cook, and this was my first attempt at cookies. I did over cook some, so some came out crispy, and some came out soft, both are equally good IMHO. used the After 8 Mint patties and they melted nicely for the most part (some of the cookies were already cooling, so I put them in the oven a few seconds to melt the candy). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this recipe once before and they came out wonderfully: soft, cute little cookies with a delicious topping. So, i was hugely disappointed when I made them a second time and they came out flat, huge, and stuck to the pan. I did use a butter substitute the second time, so my suggestions are: do not use butter substitutes, and use parchment paper to make your life easier. I will hold out hope that these come out next year when I make them for Christmas, but I think I'll have to give up if they don't. I don't think they're attractive enough for a Christmas cookie plate when they're so flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These were great with no changes to the recipe! The second time I made them, I added colored sprinkles after I spread the mints on top, just to make them a little more festive for Christmas. My son doesn't like mint so I used Hershey's chocolate instead. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I really like this recipe. While I was at the store, I also picked up the Peppermint Crunch Andes (red and white mints). I thought it might make pretty holiday swirls--I tried it on a few and they don't melt and spread as well as the chocolate and ended up pretty messy. The regular mint ones were really, really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Excellent! Crispy outside, chewy inside. A great holiday cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I think I'd rather melt the chocolate mints into the cookie batter and put the chocolate chips in before baking or cut the mints up and bake in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is my "famous" holiday cookie recipe. I crush candycanes by putting them in a bag (and put another bag over it, in case the bag punctures) and wacking them with a hammer. I put about a tsp of the fine dust into the batter and then decorate by putting the candycane bits on top of the "frosting". It is a HUGE hit at the office every year. A co-worker loves them so much that he has been known to eat NINE in one 3 hour period. I am not allowed to make anything else during the December pot-luck. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcjoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These were really great...made exactly as recipe says except used egg whites for one of the eggs. I think people are right on about not cooking the butter. My batter was so thick even before I put it in the fridge I could barely get the spoon through it soI had nice puffy cookies. Next time I will not put andes pushed in in cookie....dont need to..will just leave them on top and let them melt and then swirl them around the rest of the cookie. I baked for the full 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is such an excellent and versatile recipe!! I did not use the mint candies. I split my batch in 1/2. I folded mini M&Ms into one 1/2 and rolled the other half into ping-pong sized balls wrapped around coffee flavored chocolates. These cookies were moist even into the next day. I can't wait to make these again and I highly recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I didn't make the frosting,I put the mint chips in the cookies. We loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States