Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made 1/2 of this recipe as a trial run. My package of mint baking chips were chocolate, white and green. I used the chocolate and white for the batter and melted the green mint chips along with 1 teaspoon of shortening and piped on top of the melted, swirled mint patties. These are so easy to make and have a delicious minty, chocolate flavor. I only baked for 7 minutes on parchment lined cookie sheets. I can't wait to make for our upcoming St. Patrick's Day party. Thanks for sharing your 5 star recipe, Jackie Schmidt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Was really looking forward to these but didn't live up to expectations. They were ok. Nothing exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have a different cookie recipe for this mint cookie that I like much better. In the olden days, mint chocolate came in thin, one inch discs and was surrounded by the white cookie dough to melt inside the cookie and then harden when the cookie cooled. Now I would break an Andes chocolate mint in half and use the same baking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were good--a little different with the mint. They were also easy to make. Into my regular recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My son suggested I bake these after having them at a friend's house. While I wasn't so sure at first because the dough can be pretty crumbly, the end result is fantastic. The cookies are moist and taste just like a thin mint Girl Scout cookie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ritzinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Love them baking them right now for Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have made these many times and they are always a hit. I recommend trying these with the Andes Cherry Jubilee thins as well....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These cookies are wonderfully easy to make and they are the first to disappear from the cookie platter. The only caution is to make sure the dough cools slightly before you add the eggs or they will cook. I use an ice cream scoop to make them because I don't have the patience to hand roll them. They spread a little more this way, but it offers a beautiful contrast on a platter. One candy per cookie is great, but you can half them if you run short. I tried the candy bits one time, but they didn't melt evenly and were not as pretty. They freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have been baking these for years and its always the family's favorite! Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
As usual I read the reviews before starting - I have to say the advice was spot on. The helpful tips were - 1- make sure the dough is very cold before you start (it's almost fudge-like). 2- Parchment paper instead of greasing your pan. 3- Half an Andes mint on each cookie about 1 minute after you remove them from the oven, and then go right back and flip the unmelted mint over. This was the hardest part, to get that swirly mint look. Mine cooked for 9 1/2 minutes - they are EXCELLENT. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States