Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
These cookies are the best cookies I have baked to date so far. I have baked this cookie three times and there are a couple tricky techniques to make this cookie completely out of this world. First, it really makes a HUGE difference on the amount of grease you spread on the pan. More grease means the sides will bake quicker than the structural integrity of the cookie. I spayed the cookie sheet with Pam and then wiped excess off with a paper towel. This did the trick. Second is the time and placement of the Andes mint chocolate. I admit I did have trouble trying to figure this one out. The solution is you first let the cookie cool about a minute or until the cookie looks pretty deflated. Second, you place the mint on top (logo facing down) and press it into the cookie. Try only on a few until you start to get a hang of it. Then when the sides look shiny, but the middle still have a flat surface. Take a teaspoon and lightly flip the mint. Then drag the mint on the inner rim of the cookie. After the cookies have finished their decorative process. Promptly place them in the refrigerator still on the tray. Placing them on a cooling rack only delays the initial chocolate hardening. Well I hope this review and these key tricks helped. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big China

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wonderful! Easy to overcook. Don't cook with your eyes. I could have sworn these were not done by 9 minutes. Consequently, I cooked one batch for 12 minutes and they were hard, not soft like I prefer. I got the hang of it after the first batch. These cookies freeze well. Good for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
These are great! Pretty easy too. I didn't have regular Andes mints, just Andes mints baking chips, so I mixed them into the dough before baking. I set some aside and sprinkled them on top of the cookies after coming out of the oven, and swirled them around. Used a cookie scoop and my cookies turned out perfect! Crisp around the edges (but not too crisp) and chewy in the center. Will try again with regular Andes mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Great cookie! I used only half an Andes mint chocolate on every small and larger cookie - a whole piece was too messy. I also waited a good few minutes before I placed the candy on the cookie so it wouldn't slide off and drip. Love them! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I won first prize at a cookie exchange for these cookies! I baked a lot of extra to freeze and take to different holiday functions and they were always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
after the first batch, I realized the cookies were more like brownies, so used mini muffin tins and they were such a hit!!! I also used Peppermint Patties, which were messy to spread, but turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
These cookies were AMAZING. They were gone within two days! I was a bit hesitant to make them, since the recipe seemed a bit complicated for me, but it actually wasn't hard. I was worried for the Andes mint on top, because it didn't seem to smear very well....but once the melted chocolate cooled, they were splended. Everyone loved them, and I didn't even get to eat that many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
These cookies are wonderful!! They taste like Girl Scout Thin Mints, especially when 1/2 of an Andes candy is melted on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
DELICIOUS! I'm usually wary of trying recipes that don't have at least 30 reviews, but I really like Girl Scout thin mints, so I thought I'd try. These don't taste like thin mints, but they're still very good. I made small cookies and used half an Andes mint for each one. The chocolate takes some time to cool down and harden again. I think it tastes better when the chocolate is hardened and not melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Mmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmm good! These are so amazingly good! I was scared at first when I took them out of the oven since they were all lumpy. But once I put the andes mint on top (which I smushed so it would cover the cookie) it was honestly so pretty. Oh and the taste, its absolutely decadent. Thank you so much for such an amazing cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States