Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I received a lot of compliments on this. I used a box brownie mix for this (cuts way back on the preparation time); for the mint topping, I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar for the 1/2 cup of butter, and instead of creme de menthe used 1 1/2 tsp of mint extract. This made it not too sweet. After it cooled in the fridge applied the chocolate topping,then placed back into fridge overnight and brought into work next morning. Coworkers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I've been making these brownies since I was 12. Yummy and rich! However, I don't melt the butter for the mint layer, I cream it with the powdered sugar which makes it fluffy. Then I add a few drops of green food coloring so people can tell it's mint-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used a teaspoon of mint extract instead of creme de menthe. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
After reading the reviews I made a few changes and came out with an incredible brownie. People were grabbing these and just inhaling them. One friend, a die-hard, no-cheat, low-carber had 2! I used my own fudgey brownie recipe, chilled it. Topped with with the mint frosting (my Reese brand creme de menthe was not very minty even with 4 Tbsp, next time I'll use a touch of mint extract also) - be sure and chill this well, it helps the next layer spread. I tried melting my chocolate twice (once melting the butter separately), but both times they appeared to "seize." But, I just used it (both actually) on top and it was fine once chilled. I would recommend spreading a small area of chocolate at a time or your chocolate will chill too fast and will be really hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These brownies are the best!!I added 1 tsp. peppermint extract to the filling instead of liquer,and a few drops of green food coloring for looks. Also for the frosting, melted 3/4 c. choc chips with 1/2 c. whipping cream. I baked them for 45 minutes and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
i cannot even begin to express how excited i am to find this recipe! my friend's hubby recently bought a batch for $24(!!!) at a fundraiser and she served them to us at a playdate at her house. we all flipped out over them. i've been bugging her husband to get the recipe from the person who baked these, but no success so far. on a whim, i decided to do a search on this site and allrecipes.com came thru for me once again! thank u, thank u, thank u! the only thing different about the batch i tasted was that there were chocolate chips in the brownies and the middle layer frosting was tinted green. thank u soooo much, s. hynek! love, hina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Fabulous!!! I love the combo of mint and chocolate. I added 1.5 tsp of mint extract and 1 drop of green food coloring for looks. YUMMY!!! Guests loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was fabulous! I used our favorite boxed mix and then made the topping. I subsituted 1-1/2 tsp of mint extract for the creme de menthe. I also melted the chips in the micro. I was unsure who this would work but it was so easy. Added butter to chips - micro for 1 min. on power level 5. Stir. Micro for 30 secs on power level 5. Stir. And lastly, micro 30 more secs. WOW! No rating I described talked about the combonation of textures here - the moist brownie on the bottom with a cream filling in the center and then finished with semi-sweet chocolate crust! Truely delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These brownies are absolutely awesome! Husband tried one, and looked like he'd died and gone to heaven... I topped them off with some chopped white choc chips. Very pretty! I think these would also be good with orange flavoring instead of mint. I know Husband will be asking for these again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I had to cook the batter for about 40 minutes and I made a double batch of both the mint layer and chocolate frosting. This recipe is excellent and I will definitely make it again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States