Chocolate Mint Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These took at least 45 minutes to bake all the way through . And I used 1 tsp of mint extract in the frosting and it was too much, all you could taste was mint. Next time I will put in 1/2 tsp at most. At the very least I'm willing to give this recipe one more try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made a pan of these for my boyfriend and his parents and the entire pan was empty within 48 hours! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
A huge hit with my family this Christmas! I will make them again, but I will almost double the amount of creme de menthe in the icing. The brownies are so rich, you need more mint flavor for it to show up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is very good, however the "brownie" part really is more like cake, and it can get a little gummy (probably due to the syrup). Also, I have to agree with many others, I had to bake the brownie layer for almost an hour. I put it in for 25 min., then an extrat 10, then an extra 5, it still wasn't done, so I just kept an eye on it until it was. Realistically, the baking time should be listed as 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
These are absolutely the best brownies I've ever made. All my friends ask for them whenever we plan a get-together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Actually, more like 3 1/2 stars. This tasted pretty good. It was a little rubbery and cake-like, but otherwise it tasted pretty good. I probably will not make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancer4theking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I received a lot of compliments on this. I used a box brownie mix for this (cuts way back on the preparation time); for the mint topping, I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar for the 1/2 cup of butter, and instead of creme de menthe used 1 1/2 tsp of mint extract. This made it not too sweet. After it cooled in the fridge applied the chocolate topping,then placed back into fridge overnight and brought into work next morning. Coworkers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I've been making these brownies since I was 12. Yummy and rich! However, I don't melt the butter for the mint layer, I cream it with the powdered sugar which makes it fluffy. Then I add a few drops of green food coloring so people can tell it's mint-flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These brownies are absolutely awesome! Husband tried one, and looked like he'd died and gone to heaven... I topped them off with some chopped white choc chips. Very pretty! I think these would also be good with orange flavoring instead of mint. I know Husband will be asking for these again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant in making the brownie from this recipe but am glad I did. It was excellent but did require an extra 20-25 minutes cooking time. Next time I will add more mint extract- a teaspoon wasn't quite enough. It received rave reviews from co-workers. The only downfall is that this does take some time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States