Chocolate-Mint Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Chewy like a cookie, gooey like a brownie, this cookie gives you the best of both. The dough is soft, but slips off the cookie scoop easily and bakes into perfectly shaped rounds. I won’t dock it a star for this minor criticism, but I chose to omit the peppermint extract, replacing it with extra vanilla. I wanted a pure chocolate cookie dough and I figured there would be ample peppermint flavor from the chips (I used Andes). I was right. This was just the right balance of chocolate and peppermint without the peppermint extract and I believe it would have been peppermint overkill had I included it. I also think it would have compromised the rich chocolate flavor but that, however, might just be purely subjective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Wonderful! Someone before me commented that these turn out flat, but that was not the case with mine, which turned out nicely rounded (see picture.) Flattening can happen when butter is substituted for shortening or when too little flour is used, but I have no idea if either of those is what happened with the reviewer's cookies. Just two things to watch for if you prefer nice, plump hemispheres. As they emerged from the oven, I topped each with an Andes mint, allowed them to rest for 2 minutes, then swirled the melted candy on top. The result was serendipitous. These are just lovely, with a perfectly fudgy, brownie-like inside and a firm outside. If you like brownies and Girl Scout Thin Mints, you'll love this hybrid that represents the best of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were perfect! Just the right amount of mint and chocolate. I did make the following substutions, because I did not have mint-chocolate chips on hand. Instead of 1 teaspoon vanilla I did a 1/2 teaspoon, then 1 teaspoon of mint extract. Sub 2 cups regular chocolate chips. We will making this for all of your holiday cookie gift bags this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe except didn't have mint extract either and so added more vanilla. I used Hershey's mint chocolate chips and thought it was just the right amount of chocolate and mint flavor. Mine didn't spread at all like others said theirs did. I used my Pampered Chef cookie scoop and had to bake about 11 minutes and I had a total of 31 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Amazing flat little cookies. I didn't have peppermint extract, and I'm not sure what was meant by mint chocolate chips, so I used a bag of Andes chopped candy from the baking aisle. They were soft and minty and absolutely phenomenal. These are going in my permanent Christmas cookie list. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made just as written, these were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
It's an interesting soft-crispy texture but I really like it! The taste kind of reminds me of a Girl Scout Thin Mint, crunchy and minty. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I'm making these cookies for Christmas and they are WONDERFUL. I made a couple tweaks in the interest of saving money. Instead of the mint chocolate chips, I opted for dark chocolate chips and just some crushed peppermint candy. I just mixed in the chocolate chips normally and placed about a teaspoon of the batter in a cupcake liner. (This is important to keep the peppermint from melting everywhere.) Pop them in the oven for about 8 minutes, then take them out and sprinkle the peppermint on top. Give them just 2-3 minutes for the candy to melt and they're done! The candy has a really nice crunch without it feeling like you're breaking your teeth. Haha. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These cookies are amazing!!! They are really moist on the inside but crisp on the outside! I will definetly make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I've made these cookies at least a half dozen times now, and they are the new house favourite! The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States