Chocolate Mice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made these for a Halloween block party. The kids and adults thought they were adorable and they brought a lot of smiles too! While they were tasty, they were very "rich" so you couldn't eat like more than one really. Very very chocolatey. There were NONE left after the block party was over and there were many yummy things to choose from at the event. Everyone wanted a chocolate mouse though! I took home an empty plate. For effect, I put the mice on a bed of sliced almonds. Made it look like the straw that goes in hamster cages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathyS
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I had such fun making these mice. I used a brownie mix to make the mice, shaped them then rolled them in ground up mini-oreo crumbs. Piped white frosting mounds for eyes, and used carmels cut in 1/2 and rolled thin for tails. Paired them with spider mini cupcakes and a small pumpkin on the tray. Very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maicalani
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The mice tasted pretty good... kind of a lot of work for not much to show for it. I got 16 mice out of this recipe... didn't put any eyes on them. Very messy to shape. Got compliments, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maicalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These were the hit of the party. Followed recipe exactly, using oreos as other have. I quadrupled the recipe and got 50 mice. Used for 3 different parties. Also used tootsie rolls halfed lengthwise, microwaved 10 sec and rolled into tails. These are very time consuming....but excellent tasting and very impressive for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Cute. Made these with our 'tweens and they enjoyed, though I think younger kids would get more of a thrill from it. Would suggest making the mice pretty small, as they are very rich and chocolatey and a larger mouse/rat could be pretty overwhelming to the palate. For the life of me, I couldn't figure out how to make tails of the caramel candies (experimented with 5-60 seconds in the microwave and softening in boiling/simmering water, and results were either too hot to be malleable, not soft at all, or soft for mere seconds--not long enough to form into tails). Ended up using chow mein noodles (the fried kind in the can). They were great, though it's hard to find long enough pieces to really be mouse/rat-like. Went for ground coconut flakes for the white mice and agree that it's near-impossible to disguise the dark brown body color. Cocoa powder for brown mice gave a beautiful, velvety texture, but a horrid taste (I should've known better) and the powder smears everywhere including the mouse's eyes and ears, so not so "pretty" looking afterwards. Great taste w/ the cookie crumbs and coconut though! All in all, a nice recipe and a fun idea. Chocolate wafers are unheard of around here so crushed oreos worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was amazing for my Halloween party. I made them the night before and used sprinkles for the eyes and nose. They were very cute but it take some time to get the shape down. This is definitely a recipe that should involve some practicing on the form of mice, so they are uniform. But overall, they were rich and tasty. Next time I might split the amount of semi-sweet chocolate with normal chocolate though, to make the taste less rich. But still, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy but takes time. Carmel tails worked well. I did one tail ahead of time but waited on others because 1 review said that they became soft. I think it would have been easier doing right away. The one tail that went into the refrig overnight just hardened and it was easier to put in mice well dough was a little soft. Used pink candy dots from AC Moore for eyes and nose. Used the whole oreo cookie and blended into crumbs. One package is enough of oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These took a lot less time to make than I expected them to. I made two double batches, one with semi-sweet chocolate chips and one with white chocolate chips. For the cookie crumbs, I used chocolate and regular animal crackers. I made the cutest black and tan mice. I tried to roll the tan ones in powdered sugar but I think they looked better with just the crumbs. I used the dough blade on my food processor and just dumped everything in and it worked beautifully. I used a small cookie scoop and it literally took me one hour to form all the mice (4 batches). I put granola on the plate that I served them on and it was super cute. I also dropped a few cocolate sprinkles to make a few mice "droppings". Don't be afraid to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanouk
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe was so much fun to do. But you have to be prepared to put in the time. In order to keep the dough firm and not melting in my hands, as I was making the mice, I kept my bowl in another larger bowl half full with cruched ice. I had to bring the mice to a party, which was a 2 hour drive. So I put the mice in a "devil eggs" dish. It kept the mice separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanouk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These turned out so cute. Can't wait to hear my guest comments at the Halloween Party. Added a little Pwd. Sugar to choc./sour cream/ cookie mixture. Refrigerated overnight. Very stiff the next day. Rolled all the mice first. Then rolled in choc. crumbs. by the time I got to the last few they had dried out a bit and I had a hard time getting the crumbs to stick. Could not find shoe lace licorice ANYWHERE so used something I found in the fruit roolup isle. Eyes were some green and purple cupcake sprinkles. Didn't do a nose. I put pwd. sugar on my palms to roll the mice and it helped it not stick to my hand. Maybe thats why the crumbs didn't stick. Looked a litty mangy but hey it's Halloween! Will make again and I'm sure share the recipe. I doubled the batch and it made 26. The almond slices were a little hard to work with and to find unbroken ones. Next time I may try almond slivers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mice

Turn melted chocolate and cookie crumbs into adorable little black mice.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States