Chocolate Mice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
These mice were a hit! Everyone wanted to take a picture. I used white chocolate with vanilla cookie crumbs for the white mice, and rolled them in coconut. The brown mice were regular chocolate with chocolate cookie crumbs. I used caramel for the tails (which was a lot easier than I expected). I put the eyes on first, then rolled the mice in crumbs/coconut, then added ears. I put the tails in just before I left for the party (I used a toothpick to make holes to insert the tails), but I didn't have any problems with the caramel getting sticky so I probably could have added the tails earlier. This was a lot of work so I may never make them again, but it was fun once and the result was tasty as well as cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My daughter works for a pest control company. I used the idea of taking an old shoe box, lining it with tin foil and poking holes in top. I took it to her office and told a sad tale of finding these out in the yard, not knowing what to do and assuming someone in her office could help. She was almost afraid to open the box! It was a great laugh and she used the same story on all the techs. Everyone said the mice were really tasty....although my daughter had to remove the ears and tail before she could pop one in her mouth. "They just looked too real!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wallsop
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
They were the biggest hit. So realistic looking some people hesitated- haha but once they tasted them it was no going back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Perfect exactly as written. I used nabisco chocolate wafers pulverized in cuisinart. So cute. Used to decorate pumpkin cake for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gr33n0rchid
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
the confectioners sugar will never work since it melts into the chocolate. Alternative...use vanilla wafers. I made one batch with the regular ingredients and another with vanilla wafers and white chips. I also molded the body around a dried maraschino cherry with the stem to create a better tail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeahR
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I used this recipe as a kitchen project for my 3 1/2 year-old. It was fun and took a nice long time for him...especially making crumbs of the chocolate gram crackers. the dough was a bit difficult to work with, so I made the shapes, but he did the rest on his own. we broke up M&Ms for eyes. the taste was pretty good, but not great to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Two little girls accompanied their parents to our home for dinner last evening--the chocolate mice were a great hit. The ones I rolled in powdered sugar were not as attractive as the ones I rolled in the chocolate crumbs. I also served the apple teeth as appetizers and they also were great fun for the children. I used the idea from the Snake Stromboli and just did "snake" bread using a frozen bread dough. They loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made a big batch of these for my dorm as part of a "midterm snack" event, and they were a huge hit. Everyone loved them. I used Oreos instead of regular wafer cookies, and as everyone else has promised they work just as well; also, I used regular chocolate chips instead of squares, since I was making so many, and those also worked perfectly. I followed the suggestion to use caramel for the tails instead of licorice, which everyone in my dorm seemed to agree with. What's great is that I multiplied this recipe by five and it still came out perfectly--everyone was raving about how good and chocolatey they were and couldn't believe there were only three ingredients. I'm already starting a collection fund to make them again next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made these as treats for a Sunday family dinner and they were a hit. They look adorable and are very simple to make. I used crushed up chocolate Teddy Grahams (instead of crushed up chocolate cookies) along with Hershey's dark chocolate squares and I thought that combo worked really well. The chocolate mixture tasted very similar to a chocolate truffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mice

Turn melted chocolate and cookie crumbs into adorable little black mice.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States