Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I ended up having to triple this recipe to fill the pie crust. I added extra egg whites because we like our meringue piled high. The pie tasted good and I will make this again. I gave it 3 stars only because I had made and poured the first batch before I realizes that I would need more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I made this pie tonight, I haven't tasted the finished product, however, the chocolate custard is very good. One BIG note, however, if you are trying to fill a 9" pie crust you MUST TRIPLE the recipe. I wound up making 2 batches, one regular (which only filled about 1/2" of the bottom of the crust) and one double batch. Tripled this recipe fills the pie to the edge of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
The pie was very good but since I've worked in kitchens all my life I knew that this recipe needed some tweaking. when making the meringue the recipe doesn't specifically tell you how many egg whites. and two will hardly do the job if you like meringue. If I am going to go through the trouble of making this masterpiece I want it to be spectacular. so I used 5 egg whites. if you've never made anything with stiff egg whites. whip them like crazy. make sure they are stiff peaks, you should be able to turn the bowl upside down with out them so much as moving. The meringue will fail if you do not get the whites whipped correct. I did not have a problem with the filling it was very good. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is the issue of the egg whites. that was quite confusing in the recipe especially if someone has never made anything like this. These are fun pies to make! good luck and good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Yum! I did add an egg white to the meringue so that it was a little bigger. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I made this for my family at thanksgiving they loved it, it was easy and quick to make thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparta, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
The Meringue Recipe turns out runny, and is not user friendly to new cooks who do not realize that meringue should be beat with only the egg whites for a long while before adding the sugar. However the recipe could be reformated to make a wonderful Chocolate Meringue Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Maybe I made some huge mistake, but this recipe did not work for me at all. The chocolate pudding filling never did become the consistancy of pudding. I had to add lots more flour to get it thickened. There was not enough filling for the crust so I added layers of banana to fill it up to the top. I also doubled the meringue. The pie tasted good, but by the time I was done altering the recipe, it was not the same recipe. Maybe there is a mistake? I'm usually good at following recipes, I don't know why this one flopped for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Very good but is like a fudge pie instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This recipe didn't work for me. It didn't set up well and was sickningly sweet. There wasn't enough merengue until I added 3 more egg white. This one is not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Super easy and a real crowd pleaser. Non-baker-types are always soooo impressed with any type of meringue and just have no idea how long it takes! I have a very small apt and can only cook 2 9" pies at a time in an oven and I easily made 10 of these babies in just over an hour and 20 mins. Only thing I'd recommend is adding 50% more egg white for the meringue. I didn't feel it had enough meringue!!!! Other than that - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States