Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Disappointing results- proceed with caution. Do not use a pie pan larger than 8" or the pie will be really thin. I am not new to baking so the fact that the filling is runny and there it not near enough meringue is not due to inexperience. The recipe for Grandma's Cocoa Meringue Pie is much better and does not have to be multiplied and tweaked as this one does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Just like mom's...except she used 3T of cocoa, 1/3 cup flour, 3 T butter, and 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
delicious but I needed a lot more filling. Pie was very "short"! Probably will double next time. Used with "EASY PIE CRUST" recipe and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daysxdesign
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good pie base, meringue I actually just did myself, meringue is really easy to make. However, the chocolate custard base in this pie is super easy to make(for intermediate bakers) and tastes great, I added a teaspoon more of sugar to make it less dark chocolate tasting. Also put chocolate curls on top of the pie to make it more aesthetically pleasing. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daysxdesign

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving. Instant hit! My cousin demanded that I send her the recipe as soon as I got home! A word of advice...don't triple the recipe on the first try. I ended up with two pies and two trays of meringue cookies. Also the meringue on the pie shrinks a bit, but still tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out really bad; it was way too runny. The pudding did not thicken as much as it should have and the meringue shrunk. I would not make this again, looking for a new recipe. It was like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I dont know what I did wrong but followed recipe exactly and the "custard" never got pudding thick. I added cornstarch and it still did not ever get thick. I will never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for a long time now. I loved it. I agree it's a little too sweet, next time I make it I will reduce the sugar as suggested. Very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Turned out pretty well. I had no problems with either the custard or meringue (be sure to chill the bowl and mixers and put the egg white back in the fridge after separating them until just when you need them). I also used WAAAAY more cocoa powder for the custard because I'm a chocoholic..I used about half a cup. Only thing...a little too sugary for me. I will surely make this again but with just a little bit less sugar in the custard. I also used a chocolate pie crust I made from scratch and not the one provided. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very similiar to my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Gray Brock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States