Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Just like mom's...except she used 3T of cocoa, 1/3 cup flour, 3 T butter, and 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
delicious but I needed a lot more filling. Pie was very "short"! Probably will double next time. Used with "EASY PIE CRUST" recipe and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daysxdesign
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very good pie base, meringue I actually just did myself, meringue is really easy to make. However, the chocolate custard base in this pie is super easy to make(for intermediate bakers) and tastes great, I added a teaspoon more of sugar to make it less dark chocolate tasting. Also put chocolate curls on top of the pie to make it more aesthetically pleasing. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daysxdesign

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving. Instant hit! My cousin demanded that I send her the recipe as soon as I got home! A word of advice...don't triple the recipe on the first try. I ended up with two pies and two trays of meringue cookies. Also the meringue on the pie shrinks a bit, but still tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out really bad; it was way too runny. The pudding did not thicken as much as it should have and the meringue shrunk. I would not make this again, looking for a new recipe. It was like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I dont know what I did wrong but followed recipe exactly and the "custard" never got pudding thick. I added cornstarch and it still did not ever get thick. I will never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for a long time now. I loved it. I agree it's a little too sweet, next time I make it I will reduce the sugar as suggested. Very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Turned out pretty well. I had no problems with either the custard or meringue (be sure to chill the bowl and mixers and put the egg white back in the fridge after separating them until just when you need them). I also used WAAAAY more cocoa powder for the custard because I'm a chocoholic..I used about half a cup. Only thing...a little too sugary for me. I will surely make this again but with just a little bit less sugar in the custard. I also used a chocolate pie crust I made from scratch and not the one provided. Good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very similiar to my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I too doubled the recipe. It certainly filled the pie crust and the meringue turned out good. It also was a little runny, but sliced fine after refridgerating it for a while. It's a bit chocolatey rich, which is good if you like. I had yet to make a meringue pie and this was a simple to follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Hamburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States