Chocolate Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is definitely NOT my great-grandmother's pie...the filling tasted like brownie batter pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I failed horribly at the eggs and making them peak, needless to say I have a soupy layer of egg mush on my chocolate filling. Would having a mixer with whisk attachments help, or did i not do it long enough? It looked so easy online. Otherwise everything else was fine. I just took the pie out of the fridge, this is an all together fail, I have chocolate, egg, soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Jane Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
It was so easy to make and required very little supervision. My boyfriend and I are eating it right now, and find it very delicious. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is the closest tasting recipe to my grandma's chocolate pie that I have found. A couple of small additions to the directions: Stir all your dry ingredients together very well. Add milk. Stir over medium heat until warm. Take a few spoons of the chocolate mixture and mix in with your egg yolks BEFORE adding to the rest of the chocolate mixture. It will help it blend better and reduce the risk of overcooking your eggs. This ingredient list does need to be at least doubled for a 9 inch pie crust, and with the additional egg whites you have the option for more meringue. It's simple, my five year old can make it, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the filling was.not enough and did not form. The marangue was short a few egg whites and would have been short as well for a 9 inch pie. first I will find a functioning pudding recipe then attempt this again. epic fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Lohre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Just made this for a pre-thanksgiving dinner. The chocolate pie and the meringue was great. I read what another reviewer wrote and used five eggs white for the meringue. You have to do this because there is NO way only two would cover the entire pie top. Also, I cooked the pie for 10 minutes let it cool then added the meringue and put it back in the oven until golden on top. Don't know if this made a difference or not. Just did what another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenipher1986
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this for a pie contest we had at work it turned out perfect!!!!! Although I did used 5 egg whites for the meringue and I tripled the recipe for the Pie filling, but over all great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I didnt have a clue what I was doing but did all the step and got the best pie ever. My husband and child ate all of it the first night no left overs in my house. I guess I will have to make two next time to get just one piece. Thanks for such a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
When I made this, it never really set. It tasted delicious, but it was terribly runny and didn't look very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyTheGreat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe and didn't have a problem with the custered being runny. It was super sweet, I plan on making it again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sengoodspeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States