Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These cookies are amazing, I make these in big batches and everyone loves them. I like spooning them on freestyle and they look really cool once their baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made these because I thought it was the same as an old recipe I used to make all the time but have since lost. Unfortunately, I found it isn't at all the same. The ingredients seem similar, but the end result is horrible. The cookies have a burnt sugar flavor, but besides that not much flavor at all. Additionally, the texture is terrible. I love merigue cookies, but these are chewey and hard and stick to your teeth something terrible. I'll go back to searching cookbooks for the old one I used to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Yum! I folded the choc. chips in with 2 Tbsps coco powder and a bit of cinnamon. Used only 1/2 cup sugar and would use less next time. Also chopped a few up with some nuts and sprinkled on top for a garnish. Baked at 300 for 35+ minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I was nervous about making these...meringue just seemed so fussy...but they're easy, really! I was so impressed with myself! I even goofed the first time and used too much sugar (3/4 cup). I used 3 oz. bittersweet baking chunks instead of the chips and processed the sugar in the food processor to make it "superfine". I took the advice of others and baked at 250. They went 50 minutes before I had to leave the house, so I turned off the oven then and let them sit in the cooling oven. I think that they're much more forgiving than you might think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
super wonderful airy delights. used almost double the cocoa and a touch of cinnamon as suggested by someone else here. these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made these for a movie night with friends, and they were a HUGE hit! I followed the recipe, except I doubled the amount of chocolate chips. I would definitely recommend having your eggs at room temperature. Also, don't whip egg whites in a plastic bowl. Use a metal or ceramic one. I had stiff peaks in 5 minutes. Thanks for a tasty, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe! The cooking time is off. I cooked them for 35-40 mins. Other changes I made~ 1. The egg whites at room temp. 2. Lowered it to 1/2 cup of sugar 3. Doubled the cocoa to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very good, my kids loved them ages 2,5, and 7, ofcourse the adults too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really love these. I didn't get fancy or anything and I still really loved them. I did put them in the oven at 250 degrees for an hour as others suggested, and some were still chewy, but I really like them that way. I doubled the recipe and also doubled the cocoa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I also had difficulty forming stiff peaks. I believe my problem was that the whites were refrigerator temperature and needed to be closer to room temp. Regardless, the cookies were amazing anyway. I substituted peppermint extract (2/3 amount) for the vanilla, which I highly recommend. The peppermint chocolate with the chocolate chip combination is to die for. This is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States