Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made these for a movie night with friends, and they were a HUGE hit! I followed the recipe, except I doubled the amount of chocolate chips. I would definitely recommend having your eggs at room temperature. Also, don't whip egg whites in a plastic bowl. Use a metal or ceramic one. I had stiff peaks in 5 minutes. Thanks for a tasty, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe! The cooking time is off. I cooked them for 35-40 mins. Other changes I made~ 1. The egg whites at room temp. 2. Lowered it to 1/2 cup of sugar 3. Doubled the cocoa to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very good, my kids loved them ages 2,5, and 7, ofcourse the adults too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really love these. I didn't get fancy or anything and I still really loved them. I did put them in the oven at 250 degrees for an hour as others suggested, and some were still chewy, but I really like them that way. I doubled the recipe and also doubled the cocoa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I also had difficulty forming stiff peaks. I believe my problem was that the whites were refrigerator temperature and needed to be closer to room temp. Regardless, the cookies were amazing anyway. I substituted peppermint extract (2/3 amount) for the vanilla, which I highly recommend. The peppermint chocolate with the chocolate chip combination is to die for. This is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was my first attempt of making anything with meringue. SOME TIPS: When dividing the egg yolks and egg whites, separate them while the eggs are still cold, then leave alone & allow them to reach around room temperature before beginning to mix. If you get the least tiniest amount of egg yolk into the egg whites, ditch the egg whites and start all over! Also, it works better if you use a metal or glass bowl when mixing egg whites. Make sure all utensils and the bowl is free of any water, dampness, and squeaky clean! Otherwise, you will spend 20 minutes trying to get the egg whites to peak - and you may come close, but they won't peak without curling over! For more tips, google how to beat egg whites and you will get some good tips. So, I had issues and ended up using wilton's meringue powder, which worked very well. Also, VERY slowly add the sugar - not too fast or you will have to start ALL over again! Add a little more cocoa powder for a more chocolate flavor. Make sure the pans are thoroughly greased. Bake until tops are stiff. There should be no browness on the bottom of the cookies, and the cookies should easily lift off the cookie sheets. Be careful converting the cookies from the cookie sheet to the container (or the wire rack), they can crack easily. I am not a big fan of meringue cookies, but these are pretty good! Oh, and the recipe made about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have been making these cookies from this recipe for several years now. Whenever I ask the kids (grown up ones inhcluded) what they want me to bake this is what they ask for. Deep dark and delicious double chocolate and a flawless recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I use gluten free organic ingredients! My family loves these cookies. We bring them to family gatherings and they quickly disappear. I remember calling them "pink cookies" as a child. Don't tell grandma, but these are even better with the cocoa powder. I use slightly less sugar and sometimes add chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Super easy to make, and my toddler loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Doubled the recipe and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lertkantitham Richar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States