Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
These were yummy! I modified based on the suggestions of another reviewer. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, boubled the cocoa (I used Frys), and upped the chips to 1/2 cup. I added the cream of tartar and vanilla to the foamy eggy whites, and once I had soft peaks, I started slowly adding the sugar to a running mixer. I was worried when I lost some volume while folding in the cocoa and chips, but they still turned out great. I've been looking for a way to use up egg whites when I need a lot of yolks for home made ice cream. Most ice cream recipes call for 8 yolks, so next time, I will try doubling this recipe to use up 6/8 egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
These turned out great. I had used yolks only to make a cake, and started looking around for a good meringue cookie so that I wouldn't waste the whites. I let the whites sit at room temp for a while before starting. I let the mixer do the work at medium until I got soft peaks, and proceeded as written. I used a small disher to drop onto the cookie sheet - definitely more than a teaspoonful! :-) Baked for 30 minutes and got dry, crisp outsides with just a little chewiness in the center. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I too made these with Splenda. I used almost 2/3 of a cup and placed one chocolate chip on top of each cookie. I was afraid that mixing the chips in would deflate these delicious morsels. They baked to perfect crispness in 30 minutes and by using the parchment paper they didn't stick. In fact they almost slid off the paper when I took the pan out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These cookies are DELISH and delectable! I love any dessert with meringue incorporated, so this was kind of like the holy grail or maybe manna from heaven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casscooper91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These are very light and airy--I didn't add the chocolate chips so there wasn't much "chew" factor as they melted in the mouth. Good flavor--I added a dash of cinnamon and a teaspoon of instant coffee along with a full teaspoon of vanilla, as well as reducing the sugar to 1/3 cup. Nice for a light, sweet taste of chocolate without a lot of calories or fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Watch really close my first batch in the oven came out hard..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
i found the chocolate chips made them far too sweet. next time i make them i won't put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zagmek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are good but peppermint is my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Nice shape but had huge air pockets in them and they burned right away in the oven, so they tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Just made the cookies and they are yummy. I used dark chocolate chips to lessen the sweetness. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States