Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Hi everyone, a lot of you complain that your meringues fell flat, so I want to explain why it might have happened. Water/humidity is meringues worst nightmare. The water makes them fall flat and be gooey and crumbly like a marshmallow. The best weather for making them is a mild to cool day with limited humidity. I personally will never make meringues in the summer. I loved these and they turned out amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I will agree that these are far too sweet. Less sugar and even a little espresso would help tremendously. The texture is okay once they cool (to be fair, I made them bigger, turned down the oven in the last 10 minutes and then turned it off and left them in there for half an hour), but they're just far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Did as some other reviewers suggested and reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, used mini chocolate chips, and followed reviewer #8's tips on beating the almost room temperature egg whites. Finished product is super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
3.5 stars. Followed the recipe exactly, and it was very easy to make! Unfortunately, the meringues were far too sweet and I got sick of them after eating three 1-tps sized cookies. Cookie was crispy on outside and gooey on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Other than the fact that I over beat my egg whites and basically turned them into frothy soup, these are very good! My husband has dubbed them 'the cotton candy of cookies'. I did put in a little extra cocoa, based on the recommendation of others, and I used mini chocolate chips. In spite of the cookies being generally pretty flat, they are very tasty and quite addictive. I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
They are great this recipe is wonderful kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I doubled the cocoa because I am a major chocolate lover and used mini chocolate chips mixed in. I loved these light, airy, crisp cookies. I did beat my egg whites when they were room temp which helps them the best meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was great! The only thing I did differently was I roughly chopped the chocolate chips so that they werent so over-powering in the cookies. Next time I think i'll use mini chocolate chips instead. I found these to be perfect little chocolate bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
glee 123 u suk at cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
ew ew ew it so sweet!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States