Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These cookies were a BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Frederick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I made this recipe today. It was one of the best things I have ever eaten. I liked it because it didn't have any flour, was easy to make and had less calories/carbs than regular cookies. When I want something sweet, this is what I will make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These cookies are great! Nice and soft on the inside with great chocolate flavour. I followed other people's advice and increased the cocoa to 1 1/2 tbsp. and the chocolate chips to 1/2 cup. My husband liked them too and he's not a meringe fan. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These cookies remind me of when I was little. When my mother ever used egg yolks in a recipe she'd save the egg whites and we'd make these. We called them Forgotten Cookies though, and did not put cocoa in them (both ways are good!). I followed this recipe but changed the baking to how I remembered us making Forgotten Cookies: Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and when you put the cookies in, turn the oven off and "forget" about them for at least 4 to 6 hours, or overnight. Yes, you have to wait longer, but they cook perfectly! I snuck one out of the oven after 3 hours and they were still yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I am giving this recipe 4 stars, even thought the way I made them only deserved 2 stars. I would not recommend substituting the Splenda in for the sugar unless you don't mind a strong aftertaste. I sub it a lot and don't usually mind it, but this time it was a detriment to the cookie. I am sure this recipe would have been great with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
No one liked these. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
best cookie i ever ate. ^___^ stayed crispy and had melt-in-the-mouth texture. even after 3 days. stored airtight though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ber :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Great recipe! Cook for the ENTIRE 30 mins--mine were nowhere near done after just 25. I baked them again for another 5-7 mins, but the oven (and cookies) had cooled completely. They still turned out well, though. I used a pinch of ovaltine b/c I didn't have cocoa powder, and they taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Great recipe. These turned out wonderfully and were very quick and easy. I did make a few changes to suit my personal taste. I also read the article concerning making meringue. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar and increased chocolate chips to 1/2. I baked them at 275 because my oven tends to run hot. I did have to "assist" the cookies off the cookie sheet. I expected this due to the sticky nature of meringue and found that it was no problem, but may try parchment paper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I think we would have liked these a lot better without the cocoa powder. For us it made the meringue bitter. I'm not giving up though will try again with just the chocolate chips. Will let you know how I get on. For the time being thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 131-140 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States