Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Tasty and much easier than I thought! Love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Retrochick81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Delicious!!! I didn't have any cream of tartar so I substituted 1/2 tsp of baking powder and it worked great! I also held back just a little on the chocolate chips. I medically have to be on a low fat diet and these cookies are wonderful for that chocolate craving! Easy to make and my husband, kids, and even the neighbors loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were so good right when they came out of the oven, but after I stored them they turned soft and sticky. This happened the one other time I tried to make meringue cookies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Everyone loved these! I made myself sick because I ate so many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
After I'd read others' reviews, I used 2 Tbsp cocoa and only 1/2 cup sugar in my cookies; choc chips were omitted. Just the right sweetness and chocolatey-ness for me. On top of that, I didn't follow the instructions verbatim. I adapted instructions from other meringue cookie recipes to suit this recipe instead. First, beat in cream of tartar and vanilla when the egg whites become foamy; continue whipping till soft peaks form. When soft peaks form, gradually beat in sugar (a little at a time) to egg whites till they form stiff peaks and look glossy. I folded in cocoa lastly--don't overfold the mixture. Since this was my first attempt at making meringue, I was slightly worried. I wondered whether combining vanilla and cream of tartar with egg whites first will actually prevent the the egg whites from "growing" in volume. Separate the egg whites from the yolks right after the eggs are out of refrigerator. Then, wait to start baking when the egg whites get to room temperature. Also, make sure you use only grease-free metal or glass mixing bowl and beeaters for whipping egg whites. Finally, these cookies took longer to get done (for me), about 35~40 minutes; they're done when the tops of the cookies are kind of hard. I got about 36~40 of them with a teaspoonfuls for each. Overall, this is a wonderful choc meringue drop recipe--definitely a keeper! The best part is they're lower in calories than other cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I REALLY LIKED THIS COOKIE,MY KIDS DON'T BUT I DID CHANGE THINGS UP,ADDED CHOPPED PECANS,AND DARK CHOCOLATE CHIPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
People loved these at my party. The first batch I made I used a spoon and felt they weren't so attractive, so I made a second batch that I piped. People didn't care how they looked and ate each equally. *I didn't use chocolate chips on top, and did add some cinnamon. I also baked the second batch on parchment paper, which I think made them better, but again, people like each equally so maybe I'm just picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
A simple, basic recipe that turned out only OK. These didn't bake well at such a high temperature and quick baking time (for meringues). Also, the vanilla was too overpowering. Will not be making these again without a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These are the best cookies i have ever eaten in my life! i made 2 batches of 12 and the first 12 weregone within 5 minutes of cooling. my family is superrr chocoholics so i added an extra tsp of cocoa. the first 12 were a little soft in the middle. i cooked for 25 minutes and added an extra 5 after reading all the feed back. for the second batch i did a little more than 30 minutes (my cookies were a little on the larger side) all i altered was the cocoa and a littttttle extra sugar. i always bring big hit desserts to my boyfriends family party...i know exactly what to bring to the next one. if your looking for big hits also try mini cherry cheesecakes, dirt cake, raindeer poop(or also instead of balls make bars)either way a huge hit, and snowman pops for the kids. ive yet to be a disappointment with dessert. thanks for the advice. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this recipe last night and it was excellent- I was impatient and pulled them out at 25 minutes, so the centers weren't quite done, but they were still delicious and airy and just wonderful. Tonight, using the same implements, ingredients, and technique, they turned out flat as pancakes. Still delicious, but pancakey. The weather is still cool and dry, so I don't think it was that. I guess the moral of the story is that meringue is a fickle dish. C'est la vie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States