Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great chocolate taste although I prefer them with 2 T cocoa powder. I've made these several times and I find that they work best when you whip the whites until very glossy and almost hard. The cocoa powder will be tough to fold in, but you can do it with the mixer on the lowest speed. Also, if you prefer a crisper cookie (which I do), bake for about an hr at 250 and then turn the oven off and leave until they are cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wow! A really easy, fast and elegant cookie. I was making Aracely's Flan and needed something to do with the 10 extra egg whites. I saved them in small ramikins of 3 eggs each and made 3 batches of these cookies: some for a New Year's party and another couple of batches later in the week. I cooked these according to the instructions at sea level and they were a bit chewy in the center. I tore them open instead of biting them and they did seem cooked-- just an odd texture. Biting them squished them in a way that made them look kind of raw. If you want it crunchier then listen to the instructions in the other reviews. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LURLIEBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
i only gave this recipe 4 stars because the cooking temp and time were all off for me. i don't know if i made them too big, or what, but i ended up changing it to 250 for about 60 min. they came out way better. the only thng is if you decide to double the recipe, make sure you can fit them all in the oven at once. the ones that i let sit out waiting for the others to get done, became really sticky, and i couldn't get them off the foil. maybe parchment would work beter, but i didn't have any. anyway, i made half of them vanilla, and half chocolate. i left out the chocolate chips. these cookies are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
these are perfect to take to a holiday dinner! They are so light and yummy-and you don't feel as if you can't eat dessert due to a huge meal-because these are soo light! I did use eggology egg whites to speed up the process and because they are organic and pasturized, not to mention, they whipped up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Quick, Easy, Yummy! I used Splenda for a low carb treat and it worked great! Will try with chopped pecans next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Tasty and much easier than I thought! Love these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Retrochick81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Delicious!!! I didn't have any cream of tartar so I substituted 1/2 tsp of baking powder and it worked great! I also held back just a little on the chocolate chips. I medically have to be on a low fat diet and these cookies are wonderful for that chocolate craving! Easy to make and my husband, kids, and even the neighbors loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These were so good right when they came out of the oven, but after I stored them they turned soft and sticky. This happened the one other time I tried to make meringue cookies, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Everyone loved these! I made myself sick because I ate so many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.P.L.
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
After I'd read others' reviews, I used 2 Tbsp cocoa and only 1/2 cup sugar in my cookies; choc chips were omitted. Just the right sweetness and chocolatey-ness for me. On top of that, I didn't follow the instructions verbatim. I adapted instructions from other meringue cookie recipes to suit this recipe instead. First, beat in cream of tartar and vanilla when the egg whites become foamy; continue whipping till soft peaks form. When soft peaks form, gradually beat in sugar (a little at a time) to egg whites till they form stiff peaks and look glossy. I folded in cocoa lastly--don't overfold the mixture. Since this was my first attempt at making meringue, I was slightly worried. I wondered whether combining vanilla and cream of tartar with egg whites first will actually prevent the the egg whites from "growing" in volume. Separate the egg whites from the yolks right after the eggs are out of refrigerator. Then, wait to start baking when the egg whites get to room temperature. Also, make sure you use only grease-free metal or glass mixing bowl and beeaters for whipping egg whites. Finally, these cookies took longer to get done (for me), about 35~40 minutes; they're done when the tops of the cookies are kind of hard. I got about 36~40 of them with a teaspoonfuls for each. Overall, this is a wonderful choc meringue drop recipe--definitely a keeper! The best part is they're lower in calories than other cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.P.L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States