Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
i double the cocoa, halved the sugar, and left out the chocolate chips (b/c we were out!) and sprinkled crushed peppermint candy canes on top instead. very good. rather than dropping by spoonfuls, i cut 1 inch off the corner of a zip lock bag, filled the bag, and used it as a pastry bag. the meringues looked beautiful, and i could make other shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My kids loved these!! As mentioned by others, I also used 2 tblsp of cocoa, but also added 1 tsp of instant coffee granules. Next time I'll also add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Kates Lipsyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These are exactly as described...super light and completely guilt free. I too doubled the cocoa and only used 1/2 cup of sugar which was perfect. This was my first attempt at meringue and it turned out beauifully! Thanx for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wonderful! Super easy and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Piece of cake to make!I used splenda instead of sugar and 4 TBS. Sugar free chocolate chips from netrition.com Awesome and approx: 11 calories each WOW!Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
So yummy, light and great for me gluten intolerant friends. Huge a hit at a girl's party! I added another tablespoon of cocoa as suggested by others and would probably omit chocolate chips next time. Served with fresh strawberries and whipped cream! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This is the second time that I have made meringues and would have added another tblsp of chocolate cocoa powder. Lovin' the few calories and the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Amazing. The egg white/sugar mixture must immediately cook when you place the cookies in the oven because my batch was crispy on the outside and gooey from the chocolate chips on the inside. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was my fourth of fifth time making meringue and I usually use a different recipe, the one for Authentic French Merigues on this site. That recipe has always made my meringues perfect-airy, sweet, and pretty. These are, in my opinion, not sweet enough, not chocolatey enough, and i don't know what caused this (I followed the recipe exactly) but the center is sort of chewy. Never using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great chocolate taste although I prefer them with 2 T cocoa powder. I've made these several times and I find that they work best when you whip the whites until very glossy and almost hard. The cocoa powder will be tough to fold in, but you can do it with the mixer on the lowest speed. Also, if you prefer a crisper cookie (which I do), bake for about an hr at 250 and then turn the oven off and leave until they are cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States