Chocolate Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I also had difficulty forming stiff peaks. I believe my problem was that the whites were refrigerator temperature and needed to be closer to room temp. Regardless, the cookies were amazing anyway. I substituted peppermint extract (2/3 amount) for the vanilla, which I highly recommend. The peppermint chocolate with the chocolate chip combination is to die for. This is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was my first attempt of making anything with meringue. SOME TIPS: When dividing the egg yolks and egg whites, separate them while the eggs are still cold, then leave alone & allow them to reach around room temperature before beginning to mix. If you get the least tiniest amount of egg yolk into the egg whites, ditch the egg whites and start all over! Also, it works better if you use a metal or glass bowl when mixing egg whites. Make sure all utensils and the bowl is free of any water, dampness, and squeaky clean! Otherwise, you will spend 20 minutes trying to get the egg whites to peak - and you may come close, but they won't peak without curling over! For more tips, google how to beat egg whites and you will get some good tips. So, I had issues and ended up using wilton's meringue powder, which worked very well. Also, VERY slowly add the sugar - not too fast or you will have to start ALL over again! Add a little more cocoa powder for a more chocolate flavor. Make sure the pans are thoroughly greased. Bake until tops are stiff. There should be no browness on the bottom of the cookies, and the cookies should easily lift off the cookie sheets. Be careful converting the cookies from the cookie sheet to the container (or the wire rack), they can crack easily. I am not a big fan of meringue cookies, but these are pretty good! Oh, and the recipe made about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have been making these cookies from this recipe for several years now. Whenever I ask the kids (grown up ones inhcluded) what they want me to bake this is what they ask for. Deep dark and delicious double chocolate and a flawless recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I use gluten free organic ingredients! My family loves these cookies. We bring them to family gatherings and they quickly disappear. I remember calling them "pink cookies" as a child. Don't tell grandma, but these are even better with the cocoa powder. I use slightly less sugar and sometimes add chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Super easy to make, and my toddler loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Doubled the recipe and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenH
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Delicous Cookies. Kids and husband loved them. Very easy to make. I chopped my chocolate chips up into small peices first before adding them. This made the cookie alittle crunchier. I also put the batter into my cookie decorator and piped them out onto the parchment paper with the star tip. Then I placed one chocolate chip in the center. After all done I sprinkled them with powdered sugar and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
i double the cocoa, halved the sugar, and left out the chocolate chips (b/c we were out!) and sprinkled crushed peppermint candy canes on top instead. very good. rather than dropping by spoonfuls, i cut 1 inch off the corner of a zip lock bag, filled the bag, and used it as a pastry bag. the meringues looked beautiful, and i could make other shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My kids loved these!! As mentioned by others, I also used 2 tblsp of cocoa, but also added 1 tsp of instant coffee granules. Next time I'll also add some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Kates Lipsyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These are exactly as described...super light and completely guilt free. I too doubled the cocoa and only used 1/2 cup of sugar which was perfect. This was my first attempt at meringue and it turned out beauifully! Thanx for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States