Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This cake is the epiphany of moistness in a cake. It melts so well in my mouth. I've even decided to express to you all a picture of me and the cake i made using this recipe. It certainly is delicious and moist. http://media.tumblr.com/4e609a8f3e168f05e7506a33af7d5b2d/tumblr_inline_ms2ogbWopu1qz4rgp.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Delicious! I used reduced fat mayonnaise and whole wheat flour and it still turned out great. Very nice and moist. I also added 2 extra tbsps of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Best Dark Chocolate cake ever ,the only thing I did different is I used 1/2 c.cocoa, and warm water til it was cake batter consistency... Big hit at the Christmas dinner..My mom use to make this cake and I think she would be real proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this exactly to the recipe and all my daughter and I could taste in the raw dough was the mayo. I added another tbs of cocoa powder, and half a cup cold strong ooffee. But then it spread very thin in the 11x7 in pan, so it came out kind of flat but it was moist and fudgy. Not sure if I messed with it too much or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe for a very long time. It was a Hellman's mayonaise recipe my aunt had passed down to me years and years ago. I contacted Hellmans years ago and their current recipe was with eggs. I told the gentleman on the phone, the mayonaise replaces the eggs and oil so doesn't eggs defeats the purpose of using mayonaise LOL. thank you so much for posting it.. oh my recipe was also with warm water. its a favorite in my house. I sent this cake to my son when he was stationed in Germany. It arrived fully intact and fresh. I like to use a thin coat of cream cheese icing. gives it a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morak_1449
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I have made this lovely cake, as a first try,I used one third of the portions the recipe calls for and ended up with rich,moist chocolate cake that I have always dreamed of. Everything is well balanced. Give this divine goodness a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made this cake in October 2011 for a wedding (requested by the father of the bride). I made it a week in advance and froze it. I tripled the recipe to put in two 10" square pans to make sure they were deep enough as I know this cake doesn't rise very much. Filled and frosted with the poured fudge icing commonly used in Texas Sheet Cake. He loved it and it looked very nice with the pineapple upside down cake and traditional french vanilla cake also requested by the bride and groom. LOL! Good easy recipe and great when you don't have eggs in the house and want a quick cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very moist and light. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I just made a practice run of this recipe for a cake for this weekend, and it turned out great! I subbed milk for the water and can't get unsweetened cocoa where I live, so I used 100 grams of baking chocolate (has sugar in it...). Totally delicious, good texture, cuts well, and I used a tip I read somewhere about spinning the pan a few times before baking to get a flatter top, and it worked! I also did a test with pans, a springform vs. a cheap aluminum one(my only choices where I live). Luckily the batter was thick so i had no leaking from the springform. Both were fine, but the springform turned out prettier. I was so worried I'd be one of the people this didn't turn out for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This cake is very moist and simple to put together. My granddaughter says its yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States