Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I baked this cake in a Bunt pan at 350 for 50 mins. I changed some of the measurements to fit the pan they are as follows: 2/3 cups Cocoa, 1 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 2/3 cup of sugar and 1 1/3 cups of water. The flour, baking soda, mayonnaise and vanilla stay the same as in the original recipe. I combined the flour, baking soda, baking powder cocoa and sifted them into a bowl 2 times. I creamed the sugar and mayo and then alternated the flour and water into the sugar mixture and finally added the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJ65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This is a delicious recipe as it is presented, second time I used miracle whip, as did my aunt... was cheaper than mayo (at the time 1933) and no vanilla extract - expensive and hard to come by back then. Still delicious, albeit a different flavor, to be sure. Note: Do not use DUTCH-processed baking cocoa with this recipe! Not enough acid to offset the taste of the baking soda and creates a extremely heavy cake. The concept of this recipe (my opinion only, of course) is to re-create the taste, texture and flavor of a depression-era treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFWPaul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
My ex-husbands Grandmother had a recipe similar to this, however it called for replacing the water with room temperature coffee & adding approximately 2tbs of coffee grounds to the cake!! It was absolutely wonderfully moist! She then would top it with a homemade peanutbutter frosting that would take the cake to a whole other level of satisfaction. Plus, a 9x 13 cake would end up weighing about 10 or so lbs. Very heavy to carry, but the whole thing melted in your mouth. I want to say she was from Denmark originally, & that is where this recipe hailed from, & she tweaked it from there & made it her own, & it became a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arden Ailes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D. Franklin
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Skipped the vanilla and 1 tsp baking powder and increased the baking soda to 1.5 teaspoons and added 1/2 teaspoons salt (to match a similar recipe). Also adapted a wonderful brown sugar icing to go with it: 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 1/4 cup margarine, less than 2 tablespoons of whipping cream, and slightly less than 1-3/4 cups confectioners' sugar. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Franklin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This cake is the epiphany of moistness in a cake. It melts so well in my mouth. I've even decided to express to you all a picture of me and the cake i made using this recipe. It certainly is delicious and moist. http://media.tumblr.com/4e609a8f3e168f05e7506a33af7d5b2d/tumblr_inline_ms2ogbWopu1qz4rgp.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Delicious! I used reduced fat mayonnaise and whole wheat flour and it still turned out great. Very nice and moist. I also added 2 extra tbsps of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Best Dark Chocolate cake ever ,the only thing I did different is I used 1/2 c.cocoa, and warm water til it was cake batter consistency... Big hit at the Christmas dinner..My mom use to make this cake and I think she would be real proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this exactly to the recipe and all my daughter and I could taste in the raw dough was the mayo. I added another tbs of cocoa powder, and half a cup cold strong ooffee. But then it spread very thin in the 11x7 in pan, so it came out kind of flat but it was moist and fudgy. Not sure if I messed with it too much or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe for a very long time. It was a Hellman's mayonaise recipe my aunt had passed down to me years and years ago. I contacted Hellmans years ago and their current recipe was with eggs. I told the gentleman on the phone, the mayonaise replaces the eggs and oil so doesn't eggs defeats the purpose of using mayonaise LOL. thank you so much for posting it.. oh my recipe was also with warm water. its a favorite in my house. I sent this cake to my son when he was stationed in Germany. It arrived fully intact and fresh. I like to use a thin coat of cream cheese icing. gives it a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morak_1449
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I have made this lovely cake, as a first try,I used one third of the portions the recipe calls for and ended up with rich,moist chocolate cake that I have always dreamed of. Everything is well balanced. Give this divine goodness a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States