Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I am not sure what Donpatty did wrong (see previous review). I have baked this cake over and over again and LOVE it! I just baked it on Thursday for a Thanksgiving dessert (after not baking it for years!), and my husband again said, "Hmmmmm.... this is good!" I am new to this site and was somewhat disappointed that I was not the first to enter it! hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Very easy cake. I used an extra Tablespoon of cocoa when I made this cake. It just didn't look cocoa~y enough when I had the batter ready to pour into the pans. My Husband LOVED this cake. Will definately make this cake again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I make this cake all the time. The recipe was handed down to me from my grandmother and mother. My grandmother always made it with the salad dressing, but I prefer it with regular mayo(not lowfat.) My recipe is a little different: I use 1 cup "warm" water and 2 teaspoons of baking soda instead of half soda and have baking powder. I made this cake last night for my family. They love it served warm with whipped topping. A little trivia: The Original Chocolate Mayonaise Cake recipe was made with salad dressing and the recipe was always printed on the jar's label. I don't know when it was converted to regular mayo just know that is how my Mom made it. I can hear my Mom and Gram arguing now over reg. mayo vs. salad dressing. haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Yummy! Such a MOIST cake! I didn't even top it with anything (though a bit of whipped cream would have been nice). So quick and easy to whip up. My husband (the chocolate lover) liked it alot. I would recommend using a GOOD cocoa powder...the quality stuff will be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERLOCKLABS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I used Lite Mayo and it was still very good & moist. I made it in 2 round layer pans so I could share it with my daughter and frost with a powdered sugar frosting. It didn't need the frosting, just powdered sugar on top or whipped cream would have been fine. This is a great recipe and will be using again. My daughter also raved about it. Thanks for the input, it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Let me start by saying I am no chef. This was only the second time I tried my hand at baking anything from scratch. I am so impressed with this recipe. It was simple enough and the end product was great. I actually made muffins instead of a cake. I scaled the recipe down to 8 servings and came up with about 6 medium size muffins. I only used half the amount co-co powder called for, but I could still taste the chocolate. They were so moist and tasty. I will admit to not loving the very first one I ate. I actually found that they tasted much better they day after. I used no frosting. I plan to make more tomorrow and post pics. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Love this! It is very moist...almost like a cake-like brownie and I used a milk chocolate frosting. These were a big hit for our dessert last night. I always ask the kids if this recipe is a 'keeper' or not and they all said definitely make it again! I love to try out new recipes so they all know to be honest and I will pitch the recipe and try something different. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica S. from Pa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
family loved this cake,had the same texture as brownies. I used miracle whip don't know if that made a difference and I increased cocoa to 1/2cup otherwise didn't change a thing. Will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Best cake!!! I thought it was easy and really good. TONS of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
i thought this was a very nice moist cake.It was very easy to make,it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States