Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
SOOOO moist! Almost a little too moist, the pieces did not hold together when cut, so not great for presentation but great on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very moist and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBiotch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
this is a really good chocolate cake recipe. it's very moist but the first time that i made it, there was not enough cocoa flavour. i increased the amount to 100g and it was fantastic. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This cake was very moist and delicious. I altered the recipe a little by adding 1 2/3 cups of sugar. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dime2400

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I used Lite Mayo and it was still very good & moist. I made it in 2 round layer pans so I could share it with my daughter and frost with a powdered sugar frosting. It didn't need the frosting, just powdered sugar on top or whipped cream would have been fine. This is a great recipe and will be using again. My daughter also raved about it. Thanks for the input, it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
the only good thing about this cake was that it was heavy....i found that the cocoa was just that...a cocoa tasting cake not a chocolate tasting cake.....sorry but i will not do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Yummy! Such a MOIST cake! I didn't even top it with anything (though a bit of whipped cream would have been nice). So quick and easy to whip up. My husband (the chocolate lover) liked it alot. I would recommend using a GOOD cocoa powder...the quality stuff will be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERLOCKLABS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
The recipe I have for this cake is similar but uses: 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa, 1 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 2/3 cups sugar, 1 1/3 cups water. Everything else is the same. My cake doesn't even need frosting. It is moist, velvety and has a really rich chocolaty flavor. It is made in a bundt pan and baked 50-55 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panagiotapappas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I make this cake all the time. The recipe was handed down to me from my grandmother and mother. My grandmother always made it with the salad dressing, but I prefer it with regular mayo(not lowfat.) My recipe is a little different: I use 1 cup "warm" water and 2 teaspoons of baking soda instead of half soda and have baking powder. I made this cake last night for my family. They love it served warm with whipped topping. A little trivia: The Original Chocolate Mayonaise Cake recipe was made with salad dressing and the recipe was always printed on the jar's label. I don't know when it was converted to regular mayo just know that is how my Mom made it. I can hear my Mom and Gram arguing now over reg. mayo vs. salad dressing. haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States