Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
MAN MAN THIS IS THE BEST CAKE AND SO MOIST...(ALSO A SCRATCH CAKE LOVE IT) I MADE A BROWN SUGAR FROSTING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaside2008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was out of site!! A keeper for sure!. My daugher is 11 and loves baking. I gave her the rec was she made. I think I ate 3/4 of the cake. Chocolate is my weakness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great cake! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Super moist! I used milk here instead of water and. like many others, I used ½ cup of unsweetened cocoa powder to make it more chocolately. I did not think it tasted powdery at all. I frosted it with K. Myhre's "Chocolate Frosting I" recipe (adding 1 tsp of coconut extract to it) and it was a heavenly match!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very moist. I added more cocoa and a bit more mayo and it is delicious! Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this cake for the first time this evening. It was so easy to make. I prefer scratch cake to a mix, I always have. I followed the ricipe with only two additions. I love the combination of orange and chocolate. I had read another review of a different recipe of a baker who did not like to zest an orange and had a simpler way of doing it. So, I cut off half of the orange part of a large orange and put it into my mini chop processor with 1/2 cup of the sugar that the recipe calls for and whizzed it until it was very finely processed. I added that to the dry ingredients. I used Hershey's Dutched Cocoa and added an extra TBSP. I baked it in a silicone bundt pan for 50 minutes. It is delicious and so moist. Not super sweet. I love the flavor of it as is. I don't want frosting or a glaze on it, but a scoop of good vanilla ice cream would probably be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This cake is very moist and so good. My husband said last night as he was enjoying a piece of it, honey this cake is wonderful. This is coming from a man that does not like mayonnaise, he has no idea that it's in the cake. I frosted it with the Whipped Cream Frosting by Linda Garrett, this is for sure a 5 star recipe. Thanks Debra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
i have made this cake three times and i cannot get it to come out moist as its described in the reveiws. i dont know what im doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Fabulous! Just like Grandma used to make. Very moist. I took the advise of some of the prevoius cooks and added 2 more tablespoons of cocao. Will make again soon. I used a butter cream icing, next time will sprinklel with powder sugar only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is a great and easy cake. My mom has been making this since she was a kid. She always puts peanut butter icing on the top. I took it to a Xmas party over the weekend and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States