Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this cake and nobody had a clue there was mayonnaise in it. They all ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
i made these into cupcakes-- my photo is the one on the cooling screen-- and they were a tad disappointing. although this recipe had great flavor and moistness, this recipe is obviously suited for sheet cakes and bigger pans; it's fluffy and moist crumb made it stick to the individual papers, and didn't rise much past the pan. it's slightly reminiscent of a birthday cake from the grocery store. the dots you see in the center of the cupcakes isn't because they're underbaked, but rather because i was fearing it wouldn't be chocolate-y enough; i took the liberty of adding a dollop of peanut butter and co.'s dark chocolate dreams peanut butter. the best advice i have is to use larger pans, prepare for minimal rise, and grease well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I've made this several times now, and still can't get over how moist it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
i made this as it is and it was awesome i made this for my mom's birthday and they love it..thank you this is a sure keep!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffbeso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This really is a very moist cake. I made it a vegetarian-friendly recipe by substituting Vegannaise for the mayo. It was perhaps because of this sub that the batter was very thick, so I added an extra quarter cup of both the water and the "mayo". After that little remedy it was just right, and didn't even need to be frosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Just like mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
To someone who is new in the kitchen, this sounded disgusting (but interesting). I thought "all of these people can't be wrong." They weren't. Extremely moist cake. No frosting needed. In fact, I think frosting detracts from the taste of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Defiance, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
So yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is my new favorite chocolate cake! It's so moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
MAN MAN THIS IS THE BEST CAKE AND SO MOIST...(ALSO A SCRATCH CAKE LOVE IT) I MADE A BROWN SUGAR FROSTING....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaside2008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States