Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This had a funny taste in it. I felt like it needed more cocoa flavour to mask the mayo taste. I used Hellmans Real Mayonnaise in this. Not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Easy to make and a great taste, especially with the idea of strawberries on top. I posted photo #10. I made two 5 inch layers, and had some left over for some cupcakes to freeze. Then I cut each horizontally. I used a cream cheese frosting and horizontally sliced fresh strawberries between each layer. It was DELICIOUS with that blend of flavors. By making smaller layers we had a tall elegant cake. The cake was great the next day, although the fresh fruit doesn't keep too long. THANKS, Cathy, for the recipe AND for the photo ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We followed the recipe exactly except for using fat free mayo in place of regular mayo due to a dietary restriction. Loved it, but might add a little more cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Perfect! Very moist and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
so great soo moist. I loved it because it was the perfect amount of chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I cut down the sugar to 3/4c and baked in a bundt pan. This turned out well served with whipped cream and berries. A good way to use up extra mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cake was gone the day after I baked it. My boyfriend devoured it. I ate my fair share as well. I added a little extra cocoa powder but other than that I followed exactly. I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doriana
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
this is the best cake i ever ate .I put nutella on top **************Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Yummy moist chocolate Cake. Really easy to make. I used heaped tablespoons of Cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this cake and nobody had a clue there was mayonnaise in it. They all ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States