Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Tastes like chocolate cake from a mix - no one knew the difference - it was moist and tasted even better the next day. I did increase cocoa to almost 2/3 cup (and could have added more), used only 1 cup mayo (definitely does not need more than this) and increased vanilla to 2tsp., also added 1/4 tsp salt (I find chocolate flavor is always stronger with a little salt in recipe). Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
When I was young my Great Grand Mother used to make a chocolate mayonnaise cake that I couldn't get enough of. I read reviews about this recipe being too gooey. That is the way they are supposed to be. This was as close to my Grandmas as it gets. I fixed this about a week ago. Their are only two of us and my wife doesn't really like chocolate much. She had one piece and liked it. I finished it up this morning and I am contemplating baking another for Sunday and asking my grown kids over. I think everyone needs to try this. It is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butchman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Not exactly like my grandmothers used to be ( was kind of a cross between and cake mix and mayo cake) but this did bring back memories, thanks for sharing. I did use miracle whip instead of mayo because that's how my grandmother always made hers, followed the rest exactly but cooked in 9x13 pan for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I increased the cocoa to 2/3 a cup, decreased the mayo to 1 cup, and used coffee instead of water. I baked these at 375 for 20 minutes to make 24 cupcakes total. I topped them with a swirl of vanilla glaze (also here on allrecipes) that gave them that edge of sweetness without overpowering the taste. Delicious! Thanks for sharing- like a little taste of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made this for my mothers birthday as she hadn't had a Mayo cake since she was a little girl. I used coffee instead of water and I used cocoa powder to coat the pan. I also used the Whipped cream cheese frosting from this site. EVeryone who tried it said that it was the best cake they had ever had! THank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temple, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breezy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I added about a tablespoon extra of cocoa powder and just a dash of cinnamon and topped with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting recipe...one of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a chocolate cake recipe from my childhood except this one is lighter and moister! I used Dukes light mayo and two tsp of vanilla and baked it in a 9x13 pan for 45 minutes. It was an easy, easy recipe I quickly made with my 5 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I make this cake for all occasions and people always LOVE it, even my husband that isn't a big fan of chocolate cake. I think the big difference in this recipe is that it calls for Mayo and I have always used MIRACLE WHIP. There is a big difference between the 2 so next time you try this recipe try with Miracle whip instead(use the exact same amount as you would for mayo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
It was very light and fluffy, almost like a store cake mix. My son has allergies and he can even have this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
i remember my grandmother making this cake about 15years ago. i had forgot all about the recipe and taste until i watched sweet dreams on foodtv. i decided to look it up and i tried it. it is delicious or the bomb as my children say.i thought i could never get my husband away from my poundcakes or cheesecakes but thanks to this recipe he now has another favorite.thanks for sending it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States