Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Everyone that I have made this for has wanted the recipe and I wont give it up..lol...Thats for an easy cake that pleases everyone !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is my all time favorite cake! I grew up on it, made by my mother and grandmother.:) The only difference for our family, is that we use a peanut butter frosting made with powdered sugar..Amazing! Give it a try with this cake, you'll love it too..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeakelkat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Elk Point, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I have made other cakes with mayonnaise and they all turned out great! This cake is no exception...it was easy to make and tasted great! I opted for the cream cheese frosting as I am not such a chocolate cake/chocolate frosting fan and it was delicious! My husband is not a cake fan but even he liked it! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Leenders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
delicious ! I had a similar recipe that I used for 30 or so years. I quit making so many sweets, with the children grown & gone & somehow lost my recipe. My son & family were here for his birthday & he requested his favorite cake, you guessed it !!!! Looked on Allrecipes & this looked like the closest to what I used to make. I used Miracle Whip, since that's what I remember using & increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup plus 1 tble. It was fantastic. I frosted with the recipe on the back of Hersheys cocoa & it was perfect. This cake is moist & delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My family loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I didn't like this at all. The cake was bland and not flavorful. I made a mayo cake when we were living overseas and I didn't have access to ready made cake mix and it was amazing. I am sure that recipe called for coffee. I will keep searching until I find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Followed the exact ingredients and this was the dryest cake I have ever made! We were so dissappointed since it had great reviews and a 4.5 star rating! Made the cake for a birthday. If you are going to take this cake somewhere or making it for a special occassion, test it first-don't be surprised by the outcome before it's too late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I also doctor this up a bit but I do think the basic recipe is quite good. I would not be without a container of cocoa powder in the house since finding these sorts of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This beats my old recipe by leaps and bounds!! It is the best chocolate cake in the world. It is so moist! Someone said it tasted like a "cake mix"..come on..I've never used a boxed mix that was this good. My old recipe was my mother in laws..this is way better than hers...hee..hee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is such a great recipe, my family loves to make cupcakes with it. But I usually only use 1 cup of mayonnaise for the cupcakes, otherwise they just fall apart. They are so decadent with real chocolate icing. I have recommended this recipe to all my friends. Let's keep it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States