Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I love this cake! My grandma used to make a mayonnaise cake, and this recipe is just what I was looking for. It tastes incredible with the Chocolate Frosting I recipe submitted by Tia the Baker. So dense, rich, and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i lost this recipe a couple of years ago and was so happy to have found it my brother and my son both ask for this for their birthday cakes. it is so moist and tastes so good! thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
we could taste the Mayo. It was very soft and moist though. Maybe a different brand of mayo would have tasted better, but I'm not going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Utah, USA
Living In: Delta, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Awesome!!! So moist and rich, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is an awesome cake, although it was a little heavy, so I used 1 cup of mayo instead of what it calls for. But other than that, it's wonderful alternative to regular cake! My kids love this cake for their birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I wasn't the biggest fan of this recipe, but I only made it cause I had mayo to use up. It tasted a little bland, so I did increase the cocoa to one cup and added some sugar. Still not my favorite. I topped it with a sweet peanut butter frosting which helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe was very light and crumbly. I made it for my aunt's birthday and she said that her mom's was a lot richer and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I increased the cocoa to 1 cup, like others have recommended, but 1 big difference is to NOT use water. Use milk! Naturally brings out a richer chocolate flavor. I added a little more milk to get the usual cake consistency & to offset the extra cocoa powder. Decrease the cooking time slightly as I noticed milk cooks faster. I also made my own mayonnaise using Allrecipes instructions (1 egg yolk beaten with 2 tables lemon juice and slowly whisk in 1 cup extra virgin olive oil). I don't eat soy so store bought mayo just won't do! :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Photo by BananaNut
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advice and reduced the mayo. I made this recipe into cupcakes, and was really impressed by how beautifully they rose with nice dome tops. Also, they were at the perfect moisture! I frosted them with my favourite fudge frosting recipe, but I recommend you choose a lighter frosting than I did as the cakes themselves were very heavy--combined with the rich frosting I used it was hard to finish even one. The next time I make this cake I'll experiment with increasing the cocoa (could have used a bit stronger cocoa taste) as well as adding a bit more sugar and vanilla for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BananaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a very good chocolate cake. I increased the cocoa to 1 cup, and used 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and used 1 cup mayonnaise. The cake was moist, and yet would be great to work with in the way of carving. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States