Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
very nice. i used less mayo and coffee instead of water and also added extra cocoa. iv'e made mayo cakes before, but have never had them come out this fluffy.i'll be adding this to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Tastes like chocolate cake from a mix - no one knew the difference - it was moist and tasted even better the next day. I did increase cocoa to almost 2/3 cup (and could have added more), used only 1 cup mayo (definitely does not need more than this) and increased vanilla to 2tsp., also added 1/4 tsp salt (I find chocolate flavor is always stronger with a little salt in recipe). Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I grew up with mayo cake and always loved it. This recipe is just like my mom used to make! Mayo cake is rich and dense, that is how it is supposed to be. Mom used to frost with peanutbutter frosting, but I used store bought cream cheese frosting and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Mayo has become my secret add in ingredient with chocolate cakes. It really does make them much more moist and fluffy and people who dislike mayo in general don't even mind that it's in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This cake is so moist and a very yummy chocolate taste. My mom used to make this when i was a kid. I loved it then and i love it now. I made it with coffee instead of water as another reviewer suggested. Made mine in a 9 by 12 pan. I used the "whipping cream cream cheese frosting" in this site, also as another reviewer suggested and this is the best frosting, the frosting is light and goes well with this cake. Going to make another cake this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
tasted like chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I made this for my mothers birthday as she hadn't had a Mayo cake since she was a little girl. I used coffee instead of water and I used cocoa powder to coat the pan. I also used the Whipped cream cheese frosting from this site. EVeryone who tried it said that it was the best cake they had ever had! THank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temple, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
one of my families favorite. we put powder suger over top.. It is very easy and I enjoy making it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Great recipe. Used miracle whip and cut back on the sugar a little. extremely moist, and I disagree it was heavy. It was dense like mayo cake should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
The Cake was good but it cracked. Think next time I might try cooking it for only 20-25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States