Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent Cake....I thought that this is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever eaten. I made a cooked chocolate fudge icing. I will be making this one for years to come. Thank you for the recipe. God bless you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMJNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Disappointing, I didn't care for the consistency or taste of this cake. The texture was a little gummy and the chocolate flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I had higher hopes for this cake. The color was nice and dark, but the cake wasn't sweet enough. I found the texture to be a little gummy. Tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This cake is the most moist cake I have ever had! And, it was delicious!!!! We recently had a dairy allergy appear in our family and this cake is a great alternative to the many sweets containing butter or milk, which we can no longer have. We sprinkled a little powdered sugar on the top of the cake after it had cooled, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a chocolate cake recipe from my childhood except this one is lighter and moister! I used Dukes light mayo and two tsp of vanilla and baked it in a 9x13 pan for 45 minutes. It was an easy, easy recipe I quickly made with my 5 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent. Made this in a pinch when I had no eggs but wanted a choc cake. I was afraid it would taste like mayonnaise because the batter has a pronounced mayo taste...but when baked there is no trace of mayo flavor. No one will know you used mayonnaise! I also added 3/4 c mini choc chips before baking, and a chocolate glaze to pump up the chocolate. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
very nice. i used less mayo and coffee instead of water and also added extra cocoa. iv'e made mayo cakes before, but have never had them come out this fluffy.i'll be adding this to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Tastes like chocolate cake from a mix - no one knew the difference - it was moist and tasted even better the next day. I did increase cocoa to almost 2/3 cup (and could have added more), used only 1 cup mayo (definitely does not need more than this) and increased vanilla to 2tsp., also added 1/4 tsp salt (I find chocolate flavor is always stronger with a little salt in recipe). Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I grew up with mayo cake and always loved it. This recipe is just like my mom used to make! Mayo cake is rich and dense, that is how it is supposed to be. Mom used to frost with peanutbutter frosting, but I used store bought cream cheese frosting and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Mayo has become my secret add in ingredient with chocolate cakes. It really does make them much more moist and fluffy and people who dislike mayo in general don't even mind that it's in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pomfret, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States