Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Gummy was a good word that someone else described this as. Yummy, but mainly b/c I haven't had chocolate cake since my nursing daughter started having a reaction to dairy in my diet. Update: I'm not sure why, but these have a baking soda taste. Will have to try cutting that amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
my grandma used to make this cake for us, try putting on a mint frosting its great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by george911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Don't let the name fool you it is a wonderful cake and I love to make for almost every occasion, sometimes I make just because it tastes soooo good. It's moist and fluffy. The hotteest thing since sliced bread in my opinion!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Excellent Cake....I thought that this is the BEST chocolate cake I have ever eaten. I made a cooked chocolate fudge icing. I will be making this one for years to come. Thank you for the recipe. God bless you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMJNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Disappointing, I didn't care for the consistency or taste of this cake. The texture was a little gummy and the chocolate flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I had higher hopes for this cake. The color was nice and dark, but the cake wasn't sweet enough. I found the texture to be a little gummy. Tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This cake is the most moist cake I have ever had! And, it was delicious!!!! We recently had a dairy allergy appear in our family and this cake is a great alternative to the many sweets containing butter or milk, which we can no longer have. We sprinkled a little powdered sugar on the top of the cake after it had cooled, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe reminds me of a chocolate cake recipe from my childhood except this one is lighter and moister! I used Dukes light mayo and two tsp of vanilla and baked it in a 9x13 pan for 45 minutes. It was an easy, easy recipe I quickly made with my 5 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent. Made this in a pinch when I had no eggs but wanted a choc cake. I was afraid it would taste like mayonnaise because the batter has a pronounced mayo taste...but when baked there is no trace of mayo flavor. No one will know you used mayonnaise! I also added 3/4 c mini choc chips before baking, and a chocolate glaze to pump up the chocolate. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
very nice. i used less mayo and coffee instead of water and also added extra cocoa. iv'e made mayo cakes before, but have never had them come out this fluffy.i'll be adding this to my recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States