Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is easily THE BEST chocolate cake I have eaten thus far!!! It wayyyyy outdoes any mix cake, and as long as you are not an aficianado or a gourmet, this is the best you are going to get! Easy and uncomplicated, all-in-one-bowl YUMMY!! Thanks!!! Making batch #2! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by childoflite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Enjoyed this cake! I added pecans to the batter from my mother-in-laws trees and it was delicious with a dollop of fat-free whipped topping. It rose nicely....good recipe. No need for a boxed chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
First time trying out this recipe and with the changes annie111 suggested, my cake come out really soft and fluffy. Tasted good too and no one could even tell there was mayo in there. It was just a teeny weeny bit dry and yes it was just a weee bit crumbly too but it was good chocolate cake. Two thumbs up for a chocolate cake recipe I can use when lacking eggs and butter :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This makes a wonderful moist cake, tastes like a chocolate bar! I lost my copy of a similar recipe, which calls for 2 tablespoons of grape jelly (don't know why!)so thanks for this one. My daughter has been nagging for a mayo cake, so this is the recipe she will get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I add 1/3 cup more cocoa.Plus I make carmel iceing to put on the cake.This was a family thing when I was a child.very,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Not exactly like my grandmothers used to be ( was kind of a cross between and cake mix and mayo cake) but this did bring back memories, thanks for sharing. I did use miracle whip instead of mayo because that's how my grandmother always made hers, followed the rest exactly but cooked in 9x13 pan for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Edible. I reduced the mayo to 1 cup as recommended by others (to avoid gumminess), used extra dark cocoa powder, and a mix of cake flour and white wheat flour. Used Hellman's regular mayonnaise. (Would be good if all future reviewers would include type of mayo used, since they do vary widely.) Results: crumbly (but moist) cake with a somewhat... odd flavor. Definitely not the best tasting cake I've ever had. Perhaps the white wheat flour didn't go well with the mayo... that's all I can figure. I'm currently soaking the cake in a rum syrup to try to improve the flavor. Oh, also added a few chocolate chips, which really seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Even using coffee instead of water, and adding chocolate chips to the batter, this cake is still not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Not enough flavor for me. My grandmother used to make a much better one - so I am on the continued search!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Not so great. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States