Chocolate Mayo Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
we could taste the Mayo. It was very soft and moist though. Maybe a different brand of mayo would have tasted better, but I'm not going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Utah, USA
Living In: Delta, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Awesome!!! So moist and rich, will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is an awesome cake, although it was a little heavy, so I used 1 cup of mayo instead of what it calls for. But other than that, it's wonderful alternative to regular cake! My kids love this cake for their birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I wasn't the biggest fan of this recipe, but I only made it cause I had mayo to use up. It tasted a little bland, so I did increase the cocoa to one cup and added some sugar. Still not my favorite. I topped it with a sweet peanut butter frosting which helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe was very light and crumbly. I made it for my aunt's birthday and she said that her mom's was a lot richer and more chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I increased the cocoa to 1 cup, like others have recommended, but 1 big difference is to NOT use water. Use milk! Naturally brings out a richer chocolate flavor. I added a little more milk to get the usual cake consistency & to offset the extra cocoa powder. Decrease the cooking time slightly as I noticed milk cooks faster. I also made my own mayonnaise using Allrecipes instructions (1 egg yolk beaten with 2 tables lemon juice and slowly whisk in 1 cup extra virgin olive oil). I don't eat soy so store bought mayo just won't do! :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Photo by BananaNut
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed another reviewer's advice and reduced the mayo. I made this recipe into cupcakes, and was really impressed by how beautifully they rose with nice dome tops. Also, they were at the perfect moisture! I frosted them with my favourite fudge frosting recipe, but I recommend you choose a lighter frosting than I did as the cakes themselves were very heavy--combined with the rich frosting I used it was hard to finish even one. The next time I make this cake I'll experiment with increasing the cocoa (could have used a bit stronger cocoa taste) as well as adding a bit more sugar and vanilla for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BananaNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a very good chocolate cake. I increased the cocoa to 1 cup, and used 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and used 1 cup mayonnaise. The cake was moist, and yet would be great to work with in the way of carving. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
First time I made this cake. I have added mayo to cake mixes before. I knew it would be good. Followed the recipe exactly and added a handful of chocolate chips, as someone had suggested. Cake came out great. Thought the chips might get hard, but did not. Something different to add, if just for fun. Excellent, simple cake for those who can't handle eggs, or don't have butter etc... Loved it. Frosted it with "Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting". Also a first. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I increased the cocoa to 2/3 a cup, decreased the mayo to 1 cup, and used coffee instead of water. I baked these at 375 for 20 minutes to make 24 cupcakes total. I topped them with a swirl of vanilla glaze (also here on allrecipes) that gave them that edge of sweetness without overpowering the taste. Delicious! Thanks for sharing- like a little taste of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States