Chocolate Marshmallow Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Turned out great. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is a great icing. Follow the recipe just as it shows. No need to change a thing. It is almost like making fudge. While the frosting was slightly warm I poured it over a 9x13 inch cake and it firmed up and was beautifully smooth. You could also drizzle it over cakes, cupcakes or harshly desserts. Will be messy if you try and frost with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
While this was a good recipe and easy to follow it was very sweet and not very thick. Even after it cooled it was still runny and left a puddle of chocolate at the bottom of the plate. Otherwise a good recipe and would use it again just less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was really sticky sweet and a huge huge mess to work with, but it tasted and looked a lot like marshmallow fluff you get in a jar. I frosted s'mores cupcakes with this icing and put the leftovers in a container to use as a sub for mallow fluff if I ever need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I made this recipe tonight and it came out really nice. I took the advice of one of the other members and only used 1 cup of sugar. I also got tired of waiting for the sugar and evaporated milk to thicken, so after about 10-20 mins of waiting I added the other ingredients. I put it in the kitchen aid mixer while it cooled off. It has a fantastic flavor and it's not very thick. It drizzled down the side of my cake and I have a feeling that the icing will still be soft tomorrow. Great recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grape_ape

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
this recipe was good, but instead of using regular chocolate chips, I used white chocolate chips, so that the frosting could be colored. Instead of using regular cane sugar, I skiped that because otherwise it would be way too sweet. Otherwise, this was very good and I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Sorry but this is nothing but a sugar bomb. mallow fluff is all sugar itself then adding regular cane sugar on top of it made this grossly sweet and over powers cupcakes or a cake. I threw it all in the trash and made regular choc frosting. Too much work boiling, temperature checking, melting, stirring etc.. for a terrible result. A full waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
No one in my family is a big cake lover. However, when I made this icing , the cake was gone in one day. I made one for my co-morkers also, and they keep begging me to make it again. It is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have made this for my son for the last few years on his birthday cookie cake. I love it too. The only problem I have is if it cools off to quickly. Try spreading the icing on before it cools too much. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
i would not call this a frosting, i would call it an icing. it was really sweet but it tasted so good i just poured it on the cake i made. i will defently try this again maybe i'll put it on brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANARLENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States