Chocolate Madeleines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lady Wellington
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
These turned our rather well and were especially tasty warm. Yes, they have a darker chocolate flavor (cocoa) and less sugar but I like a less sweet product. The powdered sugar on top added a little more sweetness. I was a little concerned when I added the eggs to the butter and sugar as the mixture started to separate and looked more like cottage cheese than creamed butter, eggs and sugar. I tried to fold in the flour and cocoa as is advised in so many Madeleine recipes but it took quite a bit of stirring to get the mixture blended. I thought the batter looked like it needed more flour but as you will see, it did not. I did as the recipe instructed and placed rounded teaspoons of batter in the Madeleine pans (I used Bakers Joy - two short bursts per mold and blotted any huge globs with a paper towel or brush) and it was exactly the right amount of batter. I preheated my oven and checked the temperature with an oven thermometer. I baked the Madeleines for exactly 12 minutes. I turned the pan over and they popped right out on the rack with a little whack. I wish these were low fat because these are a tasty way to get your daily allotment of heart healty cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Wellington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I made a small batch of these today just to try them. They were very yummy, not too sweet or too chocolately. I expected them to be a light crunchy cookie, but they were actually quite spongy. Hard to describe, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANND86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made these for my French manfriend and he absolutely loves them. He's constantly asking me for them now. These have a dark chocolate flavor - not milk chocolate, so it's true that they are not too sweet. They are best on their own coming right out of the oven. A day or two later, they taste great dunked in coffee. These have become an instant staple in my house. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
So Good!! The bake time, however should be lowered to about 9 minutes to avoid a dry cake. Overall, this recipe was just what i was looking for (and the batter was delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These came out so cute and shiny. They looked great with a bunch of different flavors to make "day at the beach" madeleines. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
these are great! they are not too sweet but the powdered sugar on top adds the right amount of sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very nice petite cakes! My girlfriend and I love these and i decided to try this recipe for my first attempt. However, I think I added too much batter to the molds because the baked over the edges. They taste awesome, but i think i need to restrain more when filling the molds. Ooops...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wandering Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe - I added orange essence - worked well. A note about the baking time - its too long - make it 10 minutes and they are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good! I also thought it might need more flour...but no. Agree about the shorter cooking time. Nine minutes max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I don't know if my madeleine tray is smaller that those used in the US, but I actually got 30 out of the mix and had to throw a bit of the batter away!!! I also found them to be a little on the bittersweet side which is fine by me, but some people do prefer their chocolate goodies to be sweet rather than bitter. Mine turned out a little bit too much like mini muffins as well. I'm not sure whether that's because I over mixed the ingredients, although I did fold the dry ingredients in and only just until they were all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States