Chocolate Macaroons I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
Took these to a family dinner and my sisters; chocoholics all; loved them! Cooling in the frig is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
SOOOO GOOD!!! i had to get my mom to keep her hands off until pesach! these can be made kosher for passover just by getting chocolate chips with "fake" cocoa butter! as far as kids loving them, i am the kid here, and I LOVE THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Sweet, sweet, sweet! I made these in a pinch one late night when my husband and I were craving something sweet. A half gallon of milk and a tummy ache later, we could only eat 2 each. Much better cold. Next time, I'll probably play around with the sugar a bit. I get a toothache just thinking about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLYJELLO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Great Cookie! My husband loved it. Word to the wise....lightly spray your cookie sheet with a cooking spray before dropping...it makes it much easier! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
These are the greatest macaroons --nice & chewy. I cooked them for just 10 minutes (v. 12) to keep them soft. My family raved; everyone asked for recipe. Keeping them in refrigerator prior to serving makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I dropped these on lightly greased waxed paper and didn't have any problems with them sticking. I first tried them cold from the fridge and they were horrible, I was ready to toss them out. The bitterness from the walnuts completely ruined them. (It may have been the walnuts I used) But I decided to see what happened if I brought them to room temperature before serving and they were fantastic, the bitterness had completely disappeared. So throughout the holidays, I stored them in the fridge and then took them out the night before serving. If I make them again I will omit the walnuts and add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I can see how these will be absolutely fantastic when I chill them, however, ERMA these were so unbelievable just cooled!!!! I'm not a big macaroon person, but these little guys tasted like coconut haystack candies. Wonderful and thanks for a yummy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I make these for Passover and everyone raves about them. They melt in your mouth. I like to use almonds instead of coconut due to personal preference. I agree with another reviewer that spraying the cookie sheet before baking is helpful. I also suggest letting them cool just a couple minutes on the sheet before removing them helps them keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I used splenda instead of white sugar.plus somehow i only ended up with 12 cookies! but they were still good!they looked so good i ate one 2 seconds out of the oven.it was sweet,not too sweet (maybe the splenda?) plus i didnt use chocolate cause none on hand.they came out soft and crispy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I made this recipe for our girls annual cookie exchange at christmas. I scaled it up to 15 dozen and omitted the walnuts(for people with allergies)increased the chocolate and coconut then stored them in the freezer until just prior to handing them out. They were very well loved by everybody. I will definately make these again next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States