Chocolate Macaroons I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I can see how these will be absolutely fantastic when I chill them, however, ERMA these were so unbelievable just cooled!!!! I'm not a big macaroon person, but these little guys tasted like coconut haystack candies. Wonderful and thanks for a yummy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by mighty moose
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made these for Easter. I put them in 12 sprayed muffin cups, to create a basket shape by pressing out the middle with a teaspoon. Just before they were done, I took them out of the oven, pressed in the middle again, and put them back in for a few minutes. I cooled them in the freezer before I took them out of the pan. Each basket held 2 chocolate foil-wrapped eggs. For decoration I put a few marshmallow 'chickens' on the plate. They look pretty good, and I'm wondering how to use this trick for something other than Easter. The taste was 5 star, and I'll make these as little cookies any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Great Cookie! My husband loved it. Word to the wise....lightly spray your cookie sheet with a cooking spray before dropping...it makes it much easier! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These were good, but almost too sweet. I used sweetened flaked coconut - next time I'll try unsweetened. The texture, presentation & ease of recipe was great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
these are great! i baked them on parchment paper so they didn't stick. if you don't feel like melting the chocolate, they're just as good if you use mini chocolate chips and just fold them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I loved these! I didn't have any walnuts and don't really like them so I left them out. I threw the baking sheets in the freezer after they came out the oven and it helped the macaroons to keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
These are the greatest macaroons --nice & chewy. I cooked them for just 10 minutes (v. 12) to keep them soft. My family raved; everyone asked for recipe. Keeping them in refrigerator prior to serving makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These are fantastic! So simple but the result is delicious. As for the people complaining of a runny batter, I'm guessing the egg whites weren't whipped enough. After adding the sugar they should get glossy and white, but you still have to whip them more. When you pull your beater up and you see the whites standing up on their own, they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I used splenda instead of white sugar.plus somehow i only ended up with 12 cookies! but they were still good!they looked so good i ate one 2 seconds out of the oven.it was sweet,not too sweet (maybe the splenda?) plus i didnt use chocolate cause none on hand.they came out soft and crispy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I was told these were the best macaroons ever. They were easy to make and a big hit. Definitely a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eunoia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States