Chocolate Macaroon Tunnel Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I was disappointed with this cake. It wasn't that moist even after adding extra water to the batter and my family and I decided the chocolate cake just wasn't anything special worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Was just ok.. Definately was not the bundt cake I remembered...The filling was not the same and sank to the bottom. Wish I had read the reviews first on this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made the cake according to directions, but changed the filling according to another reviewer (coconut, sweetened condensed milk, and vanilla) and I also covered the filling with batter. I am very pleased with the outcome - not exactly like the old Pillsbury mix, but close enough for me. Also, I didn't feel it needed any glaze or icing - plenty moist and the filling makes it plenty sweet. Thanks - I'll be making this a lot - hubby loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Good idea and it looked like it would taste good....but it did not! We couldn't even finish the piece that we took. I sent the rest over to my sisters family who's electricity is down because of the snow....I'm hoping they'll eat it in desperation! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've been looking for the Pillsbury duplicate myself for years too! Anyone have an idea? I gave this three stars only because I haven't tried the recipe yet, but am searching for the Pillsbury-like coconut filled chocolate bundt cake recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This Cake was scrumptious!! It was so moist and I used the chocolate frosting. My family loved it!! Definitely a five star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
As is, the recipe is not optimal. I like the recommendations - double coconut mix. Also, only add 1/2 batter to the pan then add coconut then cover with remaining batter so tunnel is in middle instead of bottom of cake. Lastly, I drizzled melted chocolate chips instead of the sugar glaze to add a more chocolately taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was disappointed. The cake isn't moist and isn't a flavor that I was expecting. Not sure that I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I think I have a better filling for this cake it's like the coconut filling in almond joy and mounds candy bars. It's so easy to make and it tastes great! It has a great texture and bakes up great in a bundt cake. Mix together 3 cups of Bakers sweetened coconut, a can of sweetened condensed milk and a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Cake was excellent, but alas, no "tunnel!" The coconut sits on the cake plate. I also will try pouring some batter in the pan, topping with coconut mixture, then adding the rest of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States