Chocolate Macaroon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
In response to those who said the cake was too dry. I have this same recipe in my files, except mine calls for 3/4 cup water. So maybe that is the problem, it just needs more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Where did I go wrong? I made this for company and couldn't even serve it. It came out VERY dry. All the other ratings said it was so moist! When I was finished with the batter it seemed thick so I went back over the recipe and made sure I hadn't forgotten anything. That's when I started thinking that 1/4 cup liquid didn't seem like very much for a cake. Since I had not forgotten anything and the other reviews were so good I baked it anyway, but was very disappointed in the results. The batter was so thick the macaroon filling never dropped down into the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
The batter prepared according to the recipe seemed very dry indeed, so I gradually added more water until the consistency seemed right. I also "helped" the filling sink into the cake by saving some of the batter, scooping out a tunnel for the filling, and then covering it with the saved batter (as I had read in the Chocolate Tunnel Cake rcipe on this site). It turned out all right. I made one mistake though: I used sweetened coconut, which had a weird artficial flavor. Next time I'll make sure I use the non-sweetened kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKACSKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Delicious and moist.A cake for the true coconut lover.My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I made this for work and the general consensus was that it was too dry...like the desert! It was time consuming and I, like the previous rater thought that there was not enough liquid in the recipe. I miss the Pillsbury version of this cake so I thought I'd make this but was disappointed. Next time, I would double the coconut part and use a box dark chocolate cake. The batter was so thick with this recipe that the coconut sat on top the whole time. Sorry, nothing good to say about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Great cake! I was the 3rd time I cooked something, and it turned out great, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I love this cake! I thought the macaroon part was a bit skimpy, though. That's why I only gave it 4 stars. Next time, I will double the macaroon. I made the recipe as directed, but my egg white for the macaroon would not get stiff. So, I tried again, thinking the plastic bowl was the issue. Even in the glass bowl, no success. So, I added the coconut, flour, and vanilla and moved on. It turned out fine. Just not enough of it for our tastes. The chocolate cake itself was AWESOME! So chocolatey and moist (yes, I added 3/4 cup water instead, as suggested). I also ended up with an extra egg yolk, so I threw it in there, too. Didn't seem to hurt it at all. After all, aren't recipes as much a suggestion, as an absolute? Anyway, overall, this cake is a keeper! I will make it again and again. BTW - I used the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze from this site for my glaze...FANTASTIC! You really should give a go. So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie_Klockow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I thought this cake was pretty good. It was a little dry. The next time I make it, I will add a little more water and I will put the filling in the middle of the cake. The filling wouldn't go down in the cake because the batter was to thick. It set on the top and dried out while baking. The guys still liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I made this cake for a friends pool party. She HAD to have a chocolate macaroon bundt. It was a hit. Moist and delicious, it didn't last long. You know you have a hit when the kids are standing there eating it with their behinds wiggling the whole time and then being told, "this is happy food."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The concept was intriguing but the results didn't inspire me to want to make this again. My filling didn't sink into the cake and to me it was too dry. People were nice enough to say "how wonderful" but I really think they were just too nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States