Chocolate Lover's Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, just using a small pot and making 1/2 recipe. If you like hot chocolate not sweet at all, you will like this. I honestly, was dissapointed with this as is. However, after I took it off of the burner I let 3 large marshmallows from Allrecipes recipe "Spooky Homemade Marshmallows," melt into it and it was perfect. I topped my cup with some lite whipped topping also. If adding marshmallows or other toppings, the sweetness gets balanced fortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I used pure canadian maple syrup in this recipe. Because I am out of honey, I doubled the amount of syrup. I topped this with a dollop of Cool Whip. One of the best hot chocolate recipes I've tried yet. I loved that it wasn't overly sweet and that slight hint of maple. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this for my kids this morning. One of my kids gave it back to me! As written it was not very sweet at all. I added 3 tsp. of sugar to each cup and still didn't add the sweetness that you typically have with Hot Chocolate. I will try this recipe again but instead of 1/2 teaspoons, I will change it to 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
palatable after adding a lot more honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We made this this morning and it was delicious! We are a refined sugar-free family so we love finding recipes like this one. We did not uae brown sugar but a full teaspoon of both syrup and honey. We also used cream in the second addition of milk. yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe was good. I used just regular hot chocolate mix instead of the unsweetened stuff. It was delicious! My mom has me make it for her all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Was a little bitter, and I didn't see any difference or necessity to add the honey, brown sugar and maple syrup. I didn't taste that it added anything significant - I still needed to add a couple tablespoons of sugar to take the bitterness of the cocoa out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I omitted the brown sugar and 6 tsp of maple sugar instead. Was the perfect sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States