Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The final result was good but getting to that point was not. The first one I made flopped after taking it out of the pan to cool. The second one came out better after I tweaked the recipe a bit. It was not worth the second trip to the grocery and the money to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Not much better than a plain-old boxed cake mix. Disappointing for the expense of ingredients used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is the best chocolate cake EVER!!! EVERYONE loves it. My family and friends beg me to make this! It's so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This cake is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chlebda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
With the small changes, this rating is off the chart! 6 stars if I could! My friend made this for me on my bday since I LOVE chocolate, and this IS the best chocolate cake ever! Followed tips to use Vanilla extract, mini choco chips, and don't over mix batter. Glaze: 1 cup choco chips, small can condensed milk, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Melt together and pour over cake, top with mini choco chips. Enjoy with a cup of milk or ice cream, it's super rich and totally satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe. It DOES make too much batter - I think if you left the chips out of the batter it's the perfect volume for a typical bundt pan. I knew it would likely overflow beforehand, and it did. I have a teflon oven liner, so no big deal. It really wasn't that messy anyhow, just a couple of drips. After it cooled I cut the top off level with the pan. This is my first attempt. It came out delicious! Very moist and very chocolately. My husband's only complaint is that he would have preferred I used milk chocolate chips, since he is not a dark chocolate lover. One week later we still have some left over and it's STILL very moist and delicious. (Keep in a glass cake plate on our buffet table.) I used the satiny chocolate glaze recipe here on this website, and sprinkled a handful of chocolate chips into the glaze as a final touch. Looked gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this cake and must say..... YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY!!!!!! This is incredible!! I did use only vanilla extract, not the almond though. It is so moist, and even with all the chocolate, it is not too rich or sweet. I used the satiny chocolate glaze recpipe from this site, and doubled it as suggested and used 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. This recipe is a keeper, and will certainly be made many times in our home and passed around to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleugner
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This tastes like heaven! I made it for a party and 8 of us finished it off!! I used a satin glaze recipe from this site and topped it with fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleugner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is a great cake - very moist! My only regret is not using the mini - chocolate chips. I've already got plans to make this again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made this for my coworkers and 3/4 of the cake was gone in 30 mins! I've actually been asked to remake it this week b/c many people missed out. It is actually very easy to follow. Pay heed to others advice of using mini chocolate chips and spray the pan VERY well. **8/9/09 Made this in a vanilla form (French Vanilla mix, vanilla pudding, vanilla chips) and everyone loved it as well! I made 3 layers and put strawberry preserves between each layer. I frosted the cake with vanilla frosting and topped with coconut. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TarahLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States