Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Excellent. First time I made it I topped with chocolate ganache but after tasting it, I sifted confectioners sugar on top for the second one. I have the third in the oven now. After reading about the overflow problem, I make 6 cupcakes with additional batter and it comes out just right. This cake is delicious and perfect to serve for any occasion or just because it's really, really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I agree that it makes too much for one bundt cake, so another alternative is to purchase single serve size bundt cake pans to manage the overflow. Also, I think I will prepare it with bittersweet chocolate next time, as I am more of a chocoholic. I used the "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" from this site. It was more than enough for this cake, so it will provide enough glaze for additional mini's as well...however; once again, I think I will use the bittersweet chocolate for it next time. Both recipes are very good, and VERY simple to make. Thank you for sharing these recipes with us all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This cake was FABULOUS! I made this for someone's birthday and it was a huge hit! I read all the reviews first which were very helpful. I used a the pan recommended and the batter came within an inch of the top so I didn't need an additional pan.I greased the pan w/ butter and used 12oz. mini chips.Sifted together the pudding mix and cake mix (no pudding in the cake mix!) and added to the already mixed eggs, sour cream, butter and almond extract. Add wet to dry! Processed for 2 minutes w/ paddle stand mixer. This cake came out of the pan really well and did not stick. I cooked down some frozen raspberries, added a little sugar and drizzled on top of the cake. Sweet icing would have been too much on this already rich cake. I figured out the Weight Watcher points plus for this cake to be 17 points per serving (minus the raspberries) and it was worth every point!!! I'll make this cake again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
AMAZING!!!! I can't tell you how perfect this cake turns out, every time! All of my friends want the recipe and when they ask what's in it, I don't feel comfortable telling them 2 cups of sour cream, 5 eggs and two sticks of butter. It is delicious but def. not heart smart. But when it's brought to a party, it's always a hit! Always! I've never made any changes and never will. Oh, and it goes well with Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze by tunisianswife. Perfect one two punch...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Totally yummy cake. Not a difficult recipe to follow (and I am NOT a baker). My 9 yr old son and I made this and took it to a holiday gathering- it was a hit! Moist and mmmm. Of note: ton of batter, as has been mentioned, so definitely messy; we sprinkled the choc chips in a layer in the middle of the batter (very thick batter) instead of incorporating and it was an awesome 'extra'. We used a bundt pan and dusted it w powdered sugar to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artistforhire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wonderful! Everyone loved it. Used chocolate glaze I recipe (needed a double batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. Everyone young and old loved it. I did not change a thing, and I don't think there is anything you could do to make it better. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States