Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
When my friend made it, 5+ stars. When I made it, the middle didn't finish, it sank, and the top was dried and cracked. Next time, maybe 60 minutes and 1/4 c water to keep it moister and reduce the thickness of the batter. Maybe 1 less egg too. Also, I appreciate the suggestions to keep it 1.5 inches from the top of the bundt pan and make an 8x8 with the leftover batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love this cake. I substitute the chocolate chips for walnult and it is even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I would give this 6 if I could. That good. I have never needed to deviate from the original recipe. Except maybe to add extra chips- seriously perfect recipe. I have been baking this recipe for several years. It's my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I made a full course meal for my mom on Mother's Day and she said this was the best part! She asked for something chocolate and I gave her chocolate! She has renamed this "Mother's Day Cake" because I am now supposed to make this every Mother's Day. Literally the best cake I have ever had in my life! I put Hershey's syrup and fresh raspberries all over the cake after it cooled and it was heaven on a plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
my husband is a chocoholic and really enjoys this. i use peanut butter ships instead of chocolate and use a rich chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very rich!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massageldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This cake was great! It was a great bundt cake! Im going to save this one for the next Birthday celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This cake is great! It almost doesn't need any frosting. It is really moist but very rich and heavy, so you may want to eat a huge piece, but usually a small piece will do. I used dark chocolate chips in mine, and a cup of vegetable oil instead of the butter. I agree with another reviwer's recommendation: do NOT use a cake mix that already has pudding in the mix! I used a devil's food cake mix and it was delicious. This cake is best when served a little warm, so the chocolate chips are soft. It's great with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this last weekend and it was delicious! Both my little ones ate 2 pieces! and my husband said it was worth selling in a store! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I've made a version of this cake before and loved it. I misplaced my recipe and made this recipe for my son's Cub Scout Cake Walk. Paired with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze also from this site he won a blue ribbon for "Most Delicious Looking Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States